cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kvanegmond
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,638 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2009

HLS Wave Viewer, no simulation results

Jump to solution

I'm running a tutorial to prepare a workshop and I run into an issue with the Vivado Wave Viewer invoked from the HLS GUI.

I 'Run C/RTL cosimulation'  by pushing the button and explicitly set 'Vivado Simulator' as my simulator. The Dump Trace is set to 'all'.

When Vivado opens, I see the signals in the wave form viewer, but no simulation results. It seems that the simulation had never runned. During the process, as far as I could see, no errors occurs.

Since Vivado is in 'view only mode' I cant force it to simulate.

 

Any suggestions?

 

Kees van Egmond
FAE 4 Xilinx @ Avnet Silica Netherlands
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
chrisz
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,657 Views
Registered: ‎05-06-2008

Hello @kvanegmond,

 

Thank you for the source code.  

 

I ran through RTL CoSim with the same settings as you mentioned and I was able to see the waveform:

hls_cosim_waveform.PNG

 

Your tutorial looks good.

 

Thanks,
Chris

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
chrisz
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,612 Views
Registered: ‎05-06-2008

Hello @kvanegmond,

 

I have not seen this happen.  Which version of the Vivado tools are you running?

  Which OS are you using?

 

I am hoping to reproduce the issue and I need to know more details about your system.

 

Thanks,
Chris

0 Kudos
kvanegmond
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,575 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2009

Hi Chris,

 

I'm using windows-7 and Vivado-HLS 2018.2

No errors or warnings in the project, just no wave form, as if the Vivado simulator did not run.

Kees van Egmond
FAE 4 Xilinx @ Avnet Silica Netherlands
0 Kudos
chrisz
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,562 Views
Registered: ‎05-06-2008

Hello @kvanegmond,

 

Are you using an example design?

  If so, which one, so I can reproduce this issue?

 

Thanks,
Chris

0 Kudos
kvanegmond
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,549 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2009

Hi Chris,

 

It is from an old one given at a TSC some years ago.

I've zipped it up together with the lab-book.

 

Thanks for having a look over it

Kees van Egmond
FAE 4 Xilinx @ Avnet Silica Netherlands
0 Kudos
chrisz
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,658 Views
Registered: ‎05-06-2008

Hello @kvanegmond,

 

Thank you for the source code.  

 

I ran through RTL CoSim with the same settings as you mentioned and I was able to see the waveform:

hls_cosim_waveform.PNG

 

Your tutorial looks good.

 

Thanks,
Chris

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
kvanegmond
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,525 Views
Registered: ‎02-24-2009

Hi Chris,

 

Because it was working on your side, I've now figured out what to do...

When the Vivado simulation viewer open, I need to go the menu: Window->Waveform. Then the results are available in the waveform viewer. I updated the lab manual accordingly.

 

Thanks for putting me on the right track

Kees van Egmond
FAE 4 Xilinx @ Avnet Silica Netherlands
0 Kudos
Rayyangxc_163
Visitor
Visitor
215 Views
Registered: ‎07-30-2021

 i met the same situation here , if only you still remember how to "updated the lab manual accordingly" ?  thank you

0 Kudos