UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor lucaj88
Visitor

How to sum two ap_axiu stream AXI4_STREAM interface

I'm new with HLS and in general with Digital Design. I've got an Electronic Engineering background but I have never gone in depth with digital electronic system.

I'm trying to implement a simple summation of two stream vector (int type) using AXI interface. Starting from a simple sum of vector by an integer I try to modify the source code for HLS:

#include <hls_stream.h>
#include <ap_axi_sdata.h>

typedef ap_axiu<32,1,1,1> stream_type;
typedef qdma_axis<32,0,0,0> stream_res_type;

void add_vectors(stream_type* in_data1, stream_type* in_data2, stream_res_type* out_data) {
#pragma HLS INTERFACE ap_ctrl_none port=return
#pragma HLS INTERFACE axis port=in_data1
#pragma HLS INTERFACE axis port=in_data2
#pragma HLS INTERFACE axis port=out_data

out_data->data = in_data1->data + in_data2->data;
    out_data->keep = in_data1->keep || in_data2->keep;
    out_data->last = in_data1->last;
}

It's hard to me to figure out the side signals for out_data.

For the handshaking process I clearly want that TLAST signal rises when both in_Data1->TLAST and in_Data2->TLAST rise. I couldn't set in this way since error from compiler so for testing I just put it equal to the first signal.

For TKEEP signal, I don't really know how to set it, so I just set high when both the signals go high.

Please, keep in mind that I choose AXI stream because it seems very flexible and not constrained to the data dimensions. Also I think that DMA might be a fast solution for data transfer.