cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jhorswill
Observer
Observer

Instantaneous asynchronous back pressure on block - achievable through AXI4 stream protocol?

Hi there.

I am struggling with creating a mechanism that provides instantaneous back-pressure on my block, once an incoming tready signal goes low.

Please let me know if I am missing any relevant information; this is only my second post on these forums. I am also still very new to this software.

I am redesigning two existing VHDL blocks using VHLS, writing the functions in C++. This is for the part xczu9eg-ffvb1156-2-e, at a clock frequency of 250 MHz.

These are connected to each other and the surrounding (hit finder) block chain using an AXI4 stream protocol, each processing waves of packets containing 64 ADC samples and adjusting them to be sent to the next block.

Since I have little experience with interface directives, I implemented these AXI4 stream ports as function arguments, as follows (from the header files):

The first block: a pedestal subtraction algorithm (latency = 1, II = 1, pipelined)

void pedsub_HLS(word_t tdata_i, word_t* tdata_o, word_t accum_i,
                word_t* accum_o, word_t ped_i,
                word_t* ped_o, bool tvalid_i, bool* tvalid_o,
                bool tuser_i, bool* tuser_o,
                bool tkeep0_i, bool* tkeep0_o, bool tkeep1_i,
                bool* tkeep1_o, bool tready_i, bool treset_i,
                bool* treset_o, bool tlast_i, bool* tlast_o);

The second block: an FIR filter (latency = 1, II = 1, pipelined)

void fir_HLS_simplified(short tdata_i, short* tdata_o,
             		    bool tvalid_i, bool* tvalid_o, bool tuser_i,
					    bool* tuser_o, bool tkeep0_i, bool* tkeep0_o,
					    bool tkeep1_i, bool* tkeep1_o, bool tready_i,
					    bool treset_i, bool* treset_o, bool tlast_i,
					    bool* tlast_o);