Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

Use case for AXI-Stream with side-channels

Jump to solution

Hi, dear HLS elites,

I'm studying the HLS interface synthesis for AXI interface now. For AXI-Stream, I have some simple questions related to the use case. Appreciate for your any comments.  Thanks

Q1: For application like line buffer of image video or ping-pong buffer mechanism, is it good fit to use AXI-stream ?

Q2: In HLS, it also supports AXI-Stream with side-channels. However, I don't understand the benefit or use case to use such feature. Would you please illustrate the example you know ? 

Q3: Since AXI-4 stream is a kind of sequential streaming transaction, what AXI burst length does it use in general which appears not mentioned in UG902 ? 

Q4: What's the downside of AXI4-stream in your experience such as limitation of requirement of throughput or latency for target applications ?

All the best,

Nan-Sheng

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

Re: Use case for AXI-Stream with side-channels

Jump to solution

@hbucher  First, thanks for your patient to share with me on the post. However, I have some follow up questions below.

I'm not familiar with TUSER and need some study.

For some applications with real-time constraints, it requires to calculate the worst case of preparing for the data for operation in advance. Also, for traffic moving over the on-chip bus, if one master occupies the bus for too long time period, it might hurt other modules with hard real-time constraints. Thus, for worst-case analysis of the capability of on-chip bus design, it needs to model the capability of masters and slave for ESL level emulation/simulation/analysis as we did in ASIC development. That's why I asked these questions on the AXI-stream before I can well use.