cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ahonorat
Visitor
Visitor

Vitis HLS OpenCL testbench simulation error (no Xilinx platform)

Hello,

I am quite new to FPGA and so I am trying to start with an example of the vitis Vision library in Vitis HLS:
https://github.com/Xilinx/Vitis_Libraries/tree/master/vision/L3/examples/gaussiandifference

This example is designed for Vitis but I was not able to install the Pynq-Z2 board that I am using in Vitis (and I wonder if it is even possible to generate a generic BSP/XSA for it); so I'm using Vitis HLS instead.
However, the testbench provided in the example is calling OpenCL Xilinx lib, and I get the following error during the C simulation:

"Error: Failed to find Xilinx platform"

originating from a call to

xcl::get_xil_devices();

Indeed, my Vitis HLS installation is on a computer which is NOT connected to any Xilinx devices (Pynq Z2 or other), but I do not understand why I would need it for simulation.
The C synthesis is working fine.

Details about my installation :
- Vivado / Vitis / Vitis HLS 2020.2
- OpenCL 2.1 (on Intel CPU)
- OpenCV 3.4.13 (I believe that newest version 4 is not yet fully tested with Vitis)

Q1. I am missing some installation on the development machine (not connected to the Xilinx devices) ? Maybe I should install XRT ?

Q2. Is it even possible to run this OpenCL testbench on the Pynq Z2 with the Vitis Kernel Flow Target  and Pynq framework ?

I see two workarounds:
1) remove OpenCL testbench, use Vivado IP Flow Target synthesis and connect the IP by hand in Vivado (not so pleasant)
2) use another platform, as zcu102 which is provided in Vitis, with extra configuration step (I do not know how to configure the platforme project to meet my needs, and I don't have access to a zcu102 yet)

Any help or advice to simulate the Gaussian difference Vitis vision example in Vitis or Vitis HLS and run it on Pynq Z2, or as last resort on zcu102, is welcome. Thank you!