Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Oli
Visitor
Visitor

"cache" scheme + pipelining // dataflow-stream

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to FPGA/HLS world, so excuse me for any big mistake this message could include...

I'm trying to improve an HLS implementation of a problem that follows this pattern (simplified):

float cont_var[LENGTH];                                                         
float out[LENGTH]; 
int   cont_idx[LENGTH];                                                         
float *sparse_var;                                                              

for(int i=0;i<LENGTH;i++) {                                                     
  int idx = cont_idx[i];                                                        
  float v = sparse_var[idx];                                                    
  out[i] = v * cont_var[i];                                                      
}                                                                               

The idea is that cont_var, out and cont_idx are contiguous values that can be moved between DDR<->BRAM using wide data types and/or burst. sparse_var, however, is accessed with an indirection, and thus cannot benefit from the same access pattern. Note that indexes for accessing sparse_var might be repeated and thus, we can access more than once to the same values of v for a given invocation of this kernel and, additionally, there's some spatial/temporal locality in the accesses to sparse_var than can be exploited.

This loop can be pipelined, and that improves performance. However, we are still loading the items of sparse_var each time, paying the penalty for going to DDR and not leveraging data locality.

My first idea was to add a "cache scheme", simplified:

float cont_var[LENGTH]; 
float out[LENGTH];