UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer kangqiaoyibie
Observer
619 Views
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

A fixed 600ps delay IDELAY ?

Jump to solution

I use IDELAYE2 and IDELAYCTRL to add delay time for a signal.

I found that the delay time = fixed delay + tap* IDELAY_VALUE.

Where can I find the introduction about this fixed delay.

The result I got is fixed delay =600ps. (Kintex 7)

I cannt find any introduction in DS182 and UG471.

I need help, THX.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Teacher drjohnsmith
Teacher
519 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: A fixed 600ps delay IDELAY ?

Jump to solution
there are a few others on the forums doing the same,
basicaly you need a counter,
but as it can't run at 10 Ghz, you interpolate
A few ways to do this, a quick sugestion to get you thinking,
If you had two counters running at say 500 MHz,
but one on the rising edge , one on the falling edge,
then if you grab both counters at once, you can work out to 1000 MHz resolution where you are.

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Teacher drjohnsmith
Teacher
599 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: A fixed 600ps delay IDELAY ?

Jump to solution

The fixed delay is dependent upoon routing / layout , and is determined at implimentation time,

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Observer kangqiaoyibie
Observer
576 Views
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

Re: A fixed 600ps delay IDELAY ?

Jump to solution
Hi Thanks for your answer.
Can I use IDELAY for a internal signal ,not for a physical PIN?
0 Kudos
Teacher drjohnsmith
Teacher
567 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: A fixed 600ps delay IDELAY ?

Jump to solution
Nope. The Idelay block connects to IO pins at one end.

time to ask , what you trying to do ?
<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Observer kangqiaoyibie
Observer
532 Views
Registered: ‎10-07-2016

Re: A fixed 600ps delay IDELAY ?

Jump to solution
I want to implement a Delay Unit which could be adjusted dynamic. Up to 1 ms range , 0.1 ns step resolution.
0 Kudos
Teacher drjohnsmith
Teacher
520 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: A fixed 600ps delay IDELAY ?

Jump to solution
there are a few others on the forums doing the same,
basicaly you need a counter,
but as it can't run at 10 Ghz, you interpolate
A few ways to do this, a quick sugestion to get you thinking,
If you had two counters running at say 500 MHz,
but one on the rising edge , one on the falling edge,
then if you grab both counters at once, you can work out to 1000 MHz resolution where you are.

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>

View solution in original post

Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
499 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

回复: A fixed 600ps delay IDELAY ?

Jump to solution

With regards to the delay when tap=0, please have a look at this answer.

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/42133.html

 

You can drive IDELAY with either IOB or FPGA logic. For internal signal, connect it to DATAIN input rather than IDATAIN, and set DELAY_SRC to DATAIN.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tags (1)