Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
behdad18
Visitor
Visitor

Cannot set IO voltages on Pynq-Z2 to 1.8V

Jump to solution

Hello, I have Pynq-Z2 eval board which I'm using to characterize my test chip. The Chip works with 1.8V IO voltage so I configured all the IO banks I'm using to 1.8V in Vivado but when implementing on FPGA everything is in 3.3V. I read the implementation report and it correctly mentions all banks are in 1.8V. Not sure what I'm doing wrong here?

I'm very new to FPGA so any help is very much appreciated. Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

@behdad18 

Welcome to the Forum!

The schematic for the Pynq-Z2 board shows that all the PL-side banks (13, 34, 35) have VCCO = 3.3V.  So, in Vivado you must use IOSTANDARDs that are compatible with this value of VCCO.   You cannot use commands/constraints in Vivado to change the values of VCCO on the Pynq-Z2 board.

It is possible to tell Vivado that VCCO=1.8V for the PL-side banks (13, 34, 35), but this is both wrong and dangerous - because you could damage the FPGA.   

Please refer to Table 1-55 in in UG471(v1.10) to determine which IOSTANDARDs can be used with VCCO = 3.3V.

Cheers,
Mark

View solution in original post

4 Replies

@behdad18 

Welcome to the Forum!

The schematic for the Pynq-Z2 board shows that all the PL-side banks (13, 34, 35) have VCCO = 3.3V.  So, in Vivado you must use IOSTANDARDs that are compatible with this value of VCCO.   You cannot use commands/constraints in Vivado to change the values of VCCO on the Pynq-Z2 board.

It is possible to tell Vivado that VCCO=1.8V for the PL-side banks (13, 34, 35), but this is both wrong and dangerous - because you could damage the FPGA.   

Please refer to Table 1-55 in in UG471(v1.10) to determine which IOSTANDARDs can be used with VCCO = 3.3V.

Cheers,
Mark

View solution in original post

behdad18
Visitor
Visitor