cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
shirley_yang
Observer
Observer
6,936 Views
Registered: ‎05-12-2016

"error: could not resolve non-primitive black box cell" when Implementation

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

I am using Vivado 2015.4.  I am having trouble with creating custom IP with an instantiated IP core.

 

I used an adder IP core which generated from IP Catalog as a component in my custom IP. I have instantiated the wrapper component into my HDL design. Synthesis is successfully completed, however when i run Implementation, the error with black box always occurs. 

 

I have already checked the Instantiation Template of the adder IP and didn't find the attribute of black box. And i also tried with OOC and the normal method to generate the output of the adder IP. However, the problem remains.

 

 

 

Can somebody help with this problem/point me to some documentation?  I can provide more info on the steps I've taken if needed...

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
shirley_yang
Observer
Observer
11,182 Views
Registered: ‎05-12-2016

Thank u all for the replies.

Finally i found that, its my fault to cause this error.
I didn't instantiated the IP correctly.

After i re-instantiate the IP, everything goes fine.

 

shirley

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
balkris
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
6,933 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

check this ARs
http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/57128.html

 

check this similar post 

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Design-Entry/Project-1-486-Could-not-resolve-non-primitive-black-box-cell/td-p/559857

Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
syedz
Moderator
Moderator
6,556 Views
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

@shirley_yang,

 

Can you please share the steps taken to debug the issue?

 

I would suggest you to go through the following tutorial and User guide on creating & packaging custom IP to know if you have followed the correct steps:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2016_2/ug1119-vivado-creating-packaging-ip-tutorial.pdf

 

User GUide:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2016_2/ug1118-vivado-creating-packaging-custom-ip.pdf

 

--Syed

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

Did you check our new quick reference timing closure guide (UG1292)?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
arpansur
Moderator
Moderator
6,551 Views
Registered: ‎07-01-2015

Hi @shirley_yang,

 

Please make sure you have not set OOC IP in the project while packaging.

Also try with global synthesis once.

Also go through http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/60834.html

Thanks,
Arpan
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
syedz
Moderator
Moderator
6,484 Views
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

@shirley_yang,

 

Did the suggestions provided helped in resolving the issue.

 

--Syed

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

Did you check our new quick reference timing closure guide (UG1292)?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
shirley_yang
Observer
Observer
11,183 Views
Registered: ‎05-12-2016

Thank u all for the replies.

Finally i found that, its my fault to cause this error.
I didn't instantiated the IP correctly.

After i re-instantiate the IP, everything goes fine.

 

shirley

View solution in original post

0 Kudos