cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
david.hoffman
Explorer
Explorer
2,602 Views
Registered: ‎07-18-2011

Is it possible to install Vivado without relying on a GUI?

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Is it possible to install Vivado without relying on a GUI?

 

I need to install Vivado on Ubuntu hosts that don't have any graphics libraries installed. I've been trying to install using batch mode but the post installation steps include running XIC which causes the installation to fail (due to its dependency on java graphics libraries). 

 

Thanks,

David

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
hbucher
Scholar
Scholar
3,109 Views
Registered: ‎03-22-2016

@david.hoffman  The same happens when we run Vivado in the cloud or headless operation - you have to install a dummy driver.

We go over this on a few of our videos

http://www.vitorian.com/x1/archives/484 Launch Amazon AMI

http://www.vitorian.com/x1/archives/488 Install dummy driver

http://www.vitorian.com/x1/archives/497 Window manager 

http://www.vitorian.com/x1/archives/510 Tunnel for reverse programming

 

vitorian.com --- We do this for fun. Always give kudos. Accept as solution if your question was answered.
I will not answer to personal messages - use the forums instead.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
hbucher
Scholar
Scholar
3,110 Views
Registered: ‎03-22-2016

@david.hoffman  The same happens when we run Vivado in the cloud or headless operation - you have to install a dummy driver.

We go over this on a few of our videos

http://www.vitorian.com/x1/archives/484 Launch Amazon AMI

http://www.vitorian.com/x1/archives/488 Install dummy driver

http://www.vitorian.com/x1/archives/497 Window manager 

http://www.vitorian.com/x1/archives/510 Tunnel for reverse programming

 

vitorian.com --- We do this for fun. Always give kudos. Accept as solution if your question was answered.
I will not answer to personal messages - use the forums instead.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
eliezer
Explorer
Explorer
1,402 Views
Registered: ‎03-21-2019

Hey, it seems those links are dead

0 Kudos
anatoli
Moderator
Moderator
1,364 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Hello @eliezer ,

There is a Batch Mode installation flow provided in the (UG973) (v 2019.2). This has steps on how to install Vivado without relying on a GUI.

Hope this helps.

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.

If starting with Versal, take a look at our Versal Design Process Hub and our
Versal Blogs

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
eliezer
Explorer
Explorer
1,344 Views
Registered: ‎03-21-2019

That does help, thank you very much!

0 Kudos
hbucher
Scholar
Scholar
1,305 Views
Registered: ‎03-22-2016

Fixed. I maintain my own site at amazon so it's not without its hassles 

vitorian.com --- We do this for fun. Always give kudos. Accept as solution if your question was answered.
I will not answer to personal messages - use the forums instead.