cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
10,979 Views
Registered: ‎01-24-2016

SDK fails to launch after installing on Ubuntu

Jump to solution

I installed Vivado 2015.4 and the SDK using the WebPack on my laptop running Ubuntu 14.04. Everything besides the SDK seemed to install and run fine.

 

When I go to launch the SDK, I get the error "The Eclipse executable launcher was unable to locate its companion shared library." Also, eclipse.ini is blank. Is that how it should be? I thought I'd simply have to locate the library and put its path in the .ini file or something but perhaps not.

 

I should also mention that I have Eclipse Mars for C/C++ installed on this machine, but I don't think it's affecting this situation.

 

Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks.

 

 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar
20,661 Views
Registered: ‎09-05-2011
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
10,966 Views
Registered: ‎01-24-2016

Hmm, is there a way to do a fresh install of the SDK without going through the full Vivado install again? The installer won't let me uncheck the Design Suite.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar
20,662 Views
Registered: ‎09-05-2011
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,958 Views
Registered: ‎05-20-2015

Hi @chrisdean11,

One of the common reasons for this error could be the wrong unizipping of the eclipse zip file (for ex. unzipping without recreating the directory structure).Try to unzip the zipped eclipse again with a different unzip tool (winrar or 7zip) and make sure that the necessary subdirectories are created during extraction.

 

Thanks,
Rajesh

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
10,934 Views
Registered: ‎01-24-2016

Reinstalling fixed the problem, thanks!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
10,930 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Glad to know that your issue is resolved. So please close this thread by marking an appropriate reply as solution in the interest of other users.

Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,929 Views
Registered: ‎05-20-2015
Good to know that re-installation helped to fix the issue. Please close the thread by marking the appropriate answer as accepted solution.

Thanks,
Rajesh
0 Kudos