UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor gilessj
Visitor

Bank 14 reconfiguration of VCCO, Artix 7

Jump to solution

Hello,

This is my first post, please be gentle ;)
I am in the process of designing a FMC carrier card, with multiple LPC connectors and a single HPC connector. As such, I am very close to maxing out the I/O available on my target (XC7A200T-1156FCBGA, Artix 7).

My issue comes down to bank 14. I am a bit puzzled by why Bank 0 (which I would consider to be the housekeeping/configuration bank) does not contain a full QSPI interface and at least a I2C interface, but I'm not an IC designer. In my case, I am using bank 14 for I2C (which handles IPMI for the FMCs), for the quad SPI, for FCS (the flash chip select) and EMCCLK. As such, I need to have banks 0 & 14 up before I can configure the VADJ voltages for the FMCs.

The problem, then, is that bank 14 is already at a predefined voltage; since I am fully utilizing the I/O on bank 14, I now have to level shift everything interfacing with the configured I/O standard for the FMC (in this case, I am interfacing only HB(n) pins of the FMC with bank 14, thus I can use VIO_B_M2C to define the other side of a level shifter). This is not too much of a problem if the use case is only single-ended signals, but there may very well be a demand for differential.

In my mind, if I could reconfigure the bank 14 VCCO after configuration has completed, I could avoid all the level-shifting nonsense and have all the lovely termination and configuration goodies available in the FPGA.