cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
New2Zyqn_Vivado
Visitor
Visitor

Transfer highspeed digital input from ADC to DRAM directly with going through ARM

Hello,

I am new to zyqn and vivado.  I tried searching through the forum for similar challenge that I have but was not able to find any.

I have an application that calls for the zyqn fpga to receive LVDS data from a highspeed 300msps ADC to be stored directly to a DRAM off the zyqn fpga without going through ARM.  Can someone please provide some pointers or point me to application notes that can guide me through this?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
24 Replies
bkamen
Explorer
Explorer

Are you not wanting to use the ARM (PS) at all or are you saying you don't want the PS to be moving the data -- you'd like it to be DMA based?

If you're not wanting to have the ARM move the data (either polled I/O or IRQ driven data transfer) -- you would use DMA and then the ARM would just handle doing something with it.

If you don't want the PS doing anything ever and this is a design you're rolling from scratch, I believe you can still use the MIG wizard to build a memory interface that would allow you to use ARM based or custom connected RAM. My memory is a little rusty on the details for sharing RAM with the PS... but either way, you'd start with the MIG (Memory Interface Generator) user guide to see if it's applicable to what you need.

I did a design where a 576Mb/s 4-lane LVDS imager could directly write to PS memory via DMA - but I was also using PetaLinux on the PS to make decisions and move the data off to storage. So not sure if that's what you'd want either.

Hope that helps,

-Ben

drjohnsmith
Teacher
Teacher

The basic answer is you want to use DMA to move data 

Assuming the memory is on the PS side, and its going to be shared by the ARM,

The PS side will require a small buffer store, ( FIFO ) that the video gets written into