cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
4,183 Views
Registered: ‎04-22-2014

do ISE 14.7 supports spartan 7

We would like to migrate our design from Spartan 6 to Spartan 7, however we use ISE14.7 and I don't see Spartan 7 as an option in the design properties, I see other devices from the 7 series, so does ISE 14.7 supports Spartan 7?

5 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar
4,179 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Spartan 7 is supported in Vivado,

 

 

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
4,166 Views
Registered: ‎04-22-2014

thanks for your reply, so Spartan 7 won't be supported by ISE14.7?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Professor
Professor
4,163 Views
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Xilinx has repeatedly said that they have no intention of updating ISE beyond the existing 14.7 release.  You can read that to include the fact that ISE will not support any additional new devices.  That includes the low-end parts in the Artix-7 family and all Ultrascale parts.

 

By the way, Spartan-7 appears to be the same as Artix-7 but without multi-gigabit transceivers.  So it makes sense to use the Vivado tools which already support the Artix fabric.

-- Gabor
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor
4,139 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

No support for Spartan 7, and that's unlikely to change. If you do need to stick with ISE 14.7, I suggest changing to an Artix 7 instead - some of those are supported in ISE 14.7. They have the additional advantage that you can buy them right now, whereas Spartan 7 is not available yet.

 

With that said, most people are changing from Spartan 6 to the 7 series because they want access to Vivado. Spartan 6 is nowhere near end-of-life yet; is there a pressing need to change?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,128 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

 Spartan-7 not supported in ISE design flow . Its only supported in Vivado 2016.3 onwards

 

The initial Spartan-7 devices are in Early Access in 2016.3 and will not show up by default for customers.  

 

For customers who need access, please contact Xilinx Field support

Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos