cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

what's the difference between GTX and regular I/O?

Hi, total newbie here. I understand that GTX/GTH (and the like) are serial interfaces, they have transceivers, do encoding etc, but are they internally at the lowest level connected the same way regular I/O is? Could the regular I/O achieve the same bandwidth theoretically as GTX if all the transceivers are implemented externally, or encoding and serialization is implemented externally? My understanding of it is that yes, that GTX is just a layer on the existing I/O, and the point of it is to provide another "service" to make certain things easier for certain applications, otherwise it wouldn't make sense for some I/O to be faster and some be slower. Is that right?

Thanks

-Ion

6 Replies
Highlighted

To add something to this (could not find a way to edit my previous post), if you were to implement a high speed serial interface like PCIe or USB 3.1, could you do it without GTX? You'd probably need some external parts due to the shape of the signal itself, but could you do it, for the most part? Without an USB 3.1 ASIC or anything like that, that would be cheating. My question is coming purely from a curiosity standpoint, to understand FPGAs better.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor

You could certainly use an external serializer/desserializer IC on the general-purpose I/O pins to achieve a similar result. For example, you could use 32 pins and a TI DS92LV16 to effectively get a 2.56Gbps transceiver.

The GTX/GTH/GTY transceivers just shift all of that functionality on-chip, which saves board space, saves pins on the FPGA (for the 30Gbps+ transceivers on FPGAs, you'd need several hundred parallel pins), and gives you far more flexibility (ie able to easily change registers to adjust transceiver settings).