Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
btonner
Observer
Observer

Approach to XAPP1052 addition of memory

Hello

I have a number of short question

I am trying to add a memory module to the xapp1052 endpoint example and am wondering if I have taken the wrong approach to this problem as others do not seem to be having the same level of difficulty. I got the test app working but now I need to store/send the data.

-First off, there seems to be no test bench. I am new to xilinx tools and verilog (more used to other guys) so perhaps I ave missed something? I read somewere that I might request one from xilinx, is this the case? Or are there some floating around somewere.

-I am modifying the TX and RX modules to read/write the data to a fifo as seemed appropriote to me but since I am having a lot of timing issues some indication that this is not a terrible approach would be helpful. I know coregen can generate additional brams and its hard to imagine that there is not a better way to go about this.

-Does anyone use chipscope? I am wondering if there are perhaps some limitations or bugs that are causing it to not trigger properly on some of my signals.

Thats all, thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
luisb
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

You are correct that XAPP1052 does not come with a testbench.  However, you can still use the PIO example design testbench and use the test that I'm attaching.  I haven't used this one on my own, so use at your own risk.

I'm not sure which tx and rx modules you're talking about, so I can't comment.

I have used ChipScope a lot and I've never had the problem that you're running into.  Which flow are you using?  Inserter or Coregen Flow?

0 Kudos
btonner
Observer
Observer

Many thanks Luis.

I have finally gotten around to setting up the simulation now that I am ready to start integrating parts of my project. I have gotten ISIM up and running with the "Board.v" test bench.