Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dwd_pete
Visitor
Visitor

C2H Streaming XDMA Linux Driver Broken

Jump to solution

I have spent the last several weeks fixing issues in the XDMA Linux driver (source here: https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/65444.html).  Specifically, my application requires C2H streaming mode, which I found to be extremely buggy.  The code seems to work for the default run_test.sh parameters of a single transfer of 1024 bytes, but the second you want to do multiple transfers and/or transfers larger than 4096 bytes (at least on my machine), things break in spectacular fashion.

Studying the source code, it appears that the AXI-MM mode was written first and then later on the streaming mode (and the associated circular buffer) were added (this is based on seeing the different code styles in the source code) and the resulting code was not written well.  As a software engineer, I would be embarrassed if my company put code like this out publicly.  Don't get me wrong, I have seen worse code, but never from a company as large as Xilinx.  Was this code ever peer reviewed?  How was it released without even basic (e.g., transfer count greater than 1) testing/QA?

Specifically, I found the following issues:

1. The code assumes that the rx_buffer will always have so many "blocks".  However, this ignores the fact that pci_map_sg() has the ability to combine adjacent memory regions.  On my machine, this occurs, which caused an error to be tripped since the size of the descriptor does not match the "expected" size.

2. The rx_buffer does not use coherent memory and no where is there an effort made to call the appropriate PCI functions to sync the buffer to the CPU.  As a result, on certain machines such as ARM, data corruption is a guarantee.