Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Problems connecting EP and RC

Jump to solution

Hi everyone,

First of all I want to explain that I am a newbie in PCIe communications.

I have created an PCIe EndPoint core and a PCIe RootPort core with core generator, as it is explained in the 

Virtex-6 FPGA Integrated Block for PCI Express User Guide document (UG517). I have simulated them, and they work fine (I have checked test ends with no failure). 

Then, my next step was connecting both cores, in order to stablish a PCIe communication between them. I have created a project similar to the one generated with both cores, with a top VHDL containing both cores, and connecting them in a similar way to the examples. When I simulate it, I have checked the signals and It doesn't work properly.

Below is the behaviour of the system:

- In the RootPort example, after the EndPoint configuration, It writes 3 words in 3 different memory positions, and then the RP reads them.

- In my RP-EP system, the EP is well configured. But when writing the first 3 words, the RP generates fine the trn_td signals, but the EP doesn't receive the three trn_rd wirte commands properly, only the third one. After that, when reading the memory, the data read obviously is not the desired one, and the state machine in PIO_CONTROLLER module abruptly stops (normal behaviour considering the data is not the expected one).

Does somebody know if I have to change something in one module or in both of them? Theoretically, they were suposed to be desgined to work together,but I can not make them work.

Thank you in advance,

Alberto.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have already solved my problem by tracing the signals through the whole system.