Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Interface RS232

Hi,

I want to interface RS232 between PC and Spartan 3. What should I do?

Thanks for reading.

best regards

0 Kudos
16 Replies
Highlighted
Historian
Historian

daitribk wrote:

Hi,

I want to interface RS232 between PC and Spartan 3. What should I do?

Thanks for reading.

best regards

1) Write some code.

2) ???

3) Profit!

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

I have written top module and include picoblze   kcpsm3 but it is not working.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Take a look at the reference designs for the Spartan Starter Kits…..

http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/s3estarter/reference_designs.htm 

http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/s3astarter/reference_designs.htm 

Look down the ‘Features Used’ column and you will see a number of them list RS232.

Regards,

Ken Chapman
Principal Engineer, Xilinx UK
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer

Im using one of the reference designs for the spartan 3e starter kit.  The one in particular that I'm using is the pluse width monitor reference project.  I would like the program to print not only and ok when when the value is excepted but also print out all of the duty cycle values for the 12 channels.  Some pointers would be greatly appreciated to help give me a point to start.  At this time I'm at a lost do to it only printing static letters and not varriable data.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Another question,  can you have the LCD print information as well as data sent via RS232 and print on the hyperTerminal screen?

Message Edited by ntropy on 01-27-2010 03:11 PM
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

So take a look at the various reference designs and you will see examples of all the things you want to do.