cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer

AXI DMA multiple transactions - possible?

Jump to solution

Hi there,

I'm currently working on my master thesis and would like to implement a convolution core within frequency domain. The FFT and IFFT Cores are working fine with my current board design and the convolution seems to work correctly in the testbench. The whole design is synthesized and flashed into a Zynq020 from MYIR (Here's the product).

To increase the possible filter length and keeping latencies low I wanted to implement a Frequency-Domain Delay Line FDL Basic . Because I have no knowledge about CDMA or DMA SG modes and my time is running out I implemented a single DMA R/W Core for loading the filters and storing the convoluted data. All filter data and convoluted spectra will not fit into the BRAM cells.

This is my board current design. I do the math in the fft block, the DMA is in normal operation mode (see below)

Board Design FFT.jpg

ContentDMA.jpg

To do the filtering correctly I have to store the data from the Frequency-Domain Delay-Line into my DDR and load them later on. That has to be done for multiple (audio) channels so I have to do some memory management.

The memory management is currently done within the PS by doing some memcpy commands for 128 elements of int32 values. I guess the time to move my data in the PS is crucial. Currently I transfer one whole set of data between the DDR and the FFT Block, by now thats 6144 Bytes.

To minimize PS load I would like to try an alternate approach:

void myDMA_function(void) {
Xil_Out32( XPAR_AXI_DMA_1_BASEADDR + MM2S_SourceAddress, (unsigned int)fdl_current_address ); Xil_Out32( XPAR_AXI_DMA_1_BASEADDR + MM2S_Length, FDL_DMA_LENGTH ); // increase the address value to the next correct value //fdl_current_address = ...