cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hertz

AXI Hello world equivalent

I'm new to AXI. I'm trying to do the following

1. Create the most simplest design possible in AXI -- Hello World -- equivalent.
2. Simulate the design in Vivado -- observe AXI signals

side-note: I'm tired of reading the same info again and again in blogs. How there are different channels and how there are transactions (and associated control signals/channel). I want a simple design that I can create and simulate so that I can get a hang of what is happening.

Questions:
1. What would be the most simplest design ?
2. Right now I have this simple design: the AXI-master of AXI_BRAM_CONTROLLER connected to the AXI-slave of a BRAM. In order for me to write to the BRAM, I need to drive the AXI-slave of the AXI_BRAM_CONTROLLER. Do I need to write an IP to do this (read AXI manual, understand and then write an IP that sends the write instruction) ? 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Reply
dgisselq
Scholar
Scholar

@hertz,

Xilinx has put together a lot of training materials surrounding their IP packager, recommending that you use the IP packager to create a simple and basic AXI core for you.  The basic idea isn't all that bad: you pick the Vivado menu option for "Create and Package New IP", and then Vivado generates an AXI component for you to modify--the only problem is that the AXI slave cores the IP packager generates for you aren't AXI compliant.  If you use them, you will risk your design hanging up on you.at some later time.  (I'm sure Xilinx simulated these designs at some point.  The training material even discusses using their AXI VIP to try to find bugs in their cores.  It's just that these methods weren't sufficient to find all the bugs in these demonstration designs.)