cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
468 Views
Registered: ‎12-09-2018

How can I read more than 1000-bit of data in BRAM at the same time?

Jump to solution

 

If I create block memory generator, the bit-width of BRAM is set to 32-bit in maximum.

 

But, I want to read more than 1000-bit of data in BRAM at the same clock.

 

When I see the architecture of FPGA as below figure, I can see many BRAMs. 

So I guess multiple BRAMs exist in FPGA, and I might access multiple BRAMs in same clock. My guess is illustrated in below figure.

If I create multiple Block Memory Generators as below figure, Can I access multiple data in BRAMs from PL side? My guess is right?

 

aaa.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor
418 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

Re: How can I read more than 1000-bit of data in BRAM at the same time?

Jump to solution

Each block memory generator will represent at least half a block RAM (because a 36K block RAM can be divided into two 18K ones, and that is the smallest BRAM unit that Vivado will work with). Depending on the RAM size/width, Vivado may use multiple block RAMs.

 

In standalone mode (no AXI interface) you can actually specify a 1000-bit width on the block memory generator and it'll automatically use the necessary number of BRAM tiles.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor
440 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

Re: How can I read more than 1000-bit of data in BRAM at the same time?

Jump to solution

You can certainly access multiple BRAMs in parallel, but an AXI master can only talk to a single slave at a time - to access multiple BRAMs you'll have to skip AXI and interface with the RAMs directly.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
430 Views
Registered: ‎12-09-2018

Re: How can I read more than 1000-bit of data in BRAM at the same time?

Jump to solution

Thank you for your reply!

 

Then, my guess "2.each BRAM corresponds to each block memory generator?" in the figure is correct?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor
419 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

Re: How can I read more than 1000-bit of data in BRAM at the same time?

Jump to solution

Each block memory generator will represent at least half a block RAM (because a 36K block RAM can be divided into two 18K ones, and that is the smallest BRAM unit that Vivado will work with). Depending on the RAM size/width, Vivado may use multiple block RAMs.

 

In standalone mode (no AXI interface) you can actually specify a 1000-bit width on the block memory generator and it'll automatically use the necessary number of BRAM tiles.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
404 Views
Registered: ‎12-09-2018

Re: How can I read more than 1000-bit of data in BRAM at the same time?

Jump to solution

Thanks!!

 

Your reply is all I want!! Have a nice day!

0 Kudos