Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

TEMAC Evaluation Licensing Troubles

Hello,

I am a University of Florida student developing atop Stanford's NetFPGA (http://netfpga.org) platform with their reference NIC architecture, which uses a Virtex II Pro 50 FPGA.  This architecture uses a Tri-mode Ethernet Mac Core (TEMAC), version 3.

My issue is that I cannot generate a bitstream for the TEMAC IP core, due to a licensing error.

I am attempting to compile it using ISE 9.2i on a Ubuntu Linux 8.04 PC.  I obtained a "full system evaluation license", using my host ID (generated by running 'hostid' on the terminal).  I first attempted to supply my MAC address, but only 'hostid' generated an ID which fit on the form.  To install the license, I downloaded the .zip file Xilinx sent to me by e-mail in my home folder, and ran the following:

source ~/Xilinx92i/settings.sh

cd ~

sudo $XILINX/bin/lin/unzip core_licenses_eval.zip

Which run without problems.  Then I ran the makefile supplied by the NetFPGA architecture for generating the bit file.  It exits with the following error:

ERROR:Bitgen:169 - This design contains one or more evaluation cores for which
   bitstream generation is not supported. Please see the informational messages
   in the NGDBUILD report file for this design, <designname>.bld, to determine
   which core causes this error.

The bld file, nf2_top.bld, contains the following error:

INFO:coreutil - License for component <tri_mode_eth_mac_v3> found, but this
   license does not allow you to generate bitstreams for designs that
   incorporate this component. You may generate functional simulation netlists,
   but you may not evaluate this component in hardware.
   For ordering information, please refer to the
   product page for this component on www.xilinx.com