cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

UDP communcation

Hi, all, I am using spartan 3e and test the ethernet communication with echo example, but I can not ping the FPGA after the example running. I am using a Hub to connect the FPGA and Pc, does it cause the issue?

Any one has the expericence on UDP communication between FPGA and PC? I am new to FPGA-based.

Best Regards,

Roy

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Re: UDP communcation

I changed a bit from Echo example, and used waveshark to check the communication step by step,  FPGA send the broadcast to the PC with Gratuitous ARP when code goes to netif_set_up(netif);  (so, means the IP interface is up?) .  But the waveshark can not catch anything for the following UDP communication, as well, ping can not work.

I used a HUB to connect the FPGA and PC, normal cables are used.

#include "xparameters.h"

#include "lwip/tcp.h"

#include "lwip/udp.h"

#include "lwip/memp.h"

#include "lwip/mem.h"

#include "netif/etharp.h"

#include "lwip/sys.h"

#include "lwip/netif.h"

#include "stdio.h"

#include "lwip/err.h"

int main(void)

{

err_t err;

xil_printf(
"Start");

struct netif *netif, server_netif;

struct ip_addr ipaddr, pc_ipaddr, netmask, gw;

/* the mac address of the board*/

unsigned char mac_ethernet_address[] = { 0x00, 0x01, 0x02, 0x03, 0x04, 0x05 };

struct pbuf*p; unsigned char buffer[10] = "111111";

netif = &server_netif;

/* initliaze IP addresses to be used */

IP4_ADDR(&ipaddr, 192, 168, 1, 100);

IP4_ADDR(&pc_ipaddr, 192, 168, 1, 13);

IP4_ADDR(&netmask, 255, 255, 255, 0);

IP4_ADDR(&gw, 192, 168, 1, 1);

lwip_init();

udp_init();

/* Add network interface to the netif_list, and set it as default */

if (!xemac_add(netif, &ipaddr, &netmask, &gw, mac_ethernet_address, XPAR_ETHERNET_MAC_BASEADDR)) {

xil_printf("Error adding N/W interface\n\r");

return -1;

}

netif_set_default(netif);

/* specify that the network if is up */