cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

ZCU111 RFDC Bare Metal Example

Jump to solution

Hi,

I created a simple PS + PL Vivado project. The RF DAC is connected to the PS via AXI Interconnect (Vivado Block Design: Run Automation). The RF DAC AXIS interface is driven by some simple FPGA logic. Therefore, I want to write a bare metal application in SDK to simply bring the RF DAC live and then I expect the FPGA logic to drive it.

I built the bitstream and exported the hardware file to SDK. I ran into two problems:

First, in SDK, when creating a new application, there is a high probability (about 1 in 4) that SDK crashes and closes itself. If I try to re-launch SDK and choose the same workspace, it will launch but immediately close itself. It appears that the new application directories are corrupted. The only fix I found so far is deleting the corrupted directories. Is there something I am missing here?

Second, I studied and copied the bare metal examples located in Xilinx\SDK\2018.2\data\embeddedsw\XilinxProcessorIPLib\drivers\rfdc_v4_0\examples. I created a new empty application and copied

xrfdc_clk.h

xrfdc_clk.c

xrfdc_selftest_example.c

SDK complains that

LMK04208ClockConfig

LMX2594ClockConfig

are undefined. However, they are indeed defined in xrfdc_clk.h

This seems like some Makefile issue. I checked the linker settings (see attached screenshots) but it looks normal. Am I missing something obvious and silly here?

Many Thanks.

rfdc_clk_h.jpg
gcc_linker.jpg
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Hi,
About undefined reference errors, same here.
As a workaround, I added "#define XPS_BOARD_ZCU111" in the code:
Screenshot.png

Then it works.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
Highlighted
Hi,
I can take a look at this.
I have seen it complain about lib metal and xrfdc sometimes when I ask it to create a BSP when the application is being created.