UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Newbie secretstep

VHDL connection to EDK

Jump to solution

Hi, I'm quite new to this Xilinx EDK stuff.

I have some questions that I couldn't figure out, so I'd really appreciate if you can enlighten me.

This is what I know:

VHDL

Simulation

FPGA

Embedded programming

What I wonder about:

So Virtex has a microprocessor attached in it right? What I wonder is that how do we make the microprocessor and FPGA interconnect each other.

Is it called as the 'cores' for microprocessor that we design so that the microprocessor can communicate with FPGA?

Or is it called the 'drivers'?

How do the interconnection be made? I assume that a VHDL project for Xilinx FPGA from ISE can be made into a core, but then how the libraries for the microprocessor programming is generated?

For example, using an AC97 codec, we have a library xac.c, xac.h or something like that. How do we generate these files, and how do we know the variables defined inside those libraries are connected to the FPGA (i mean the ports of VHDL)?

I skimmed through the manuals but I still do not understand the inside procedure of making the 'core'.

I can make a VHDL process with ISE, but then I'll be wondering how to make this PROGRAMMABLE in C for microprocessor.

Please help me! Thank you!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Visitor bishesh
Visitor

Re: VHDL connection to EDK

Jump to solution

I think you are referring to soft core processors when you say "cores for microprocessor in FPGA".