UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor yurtesen
Visitor

OpenCL Vector Add Example question

Hello,

I am new to FPGAs. I have been looking at the OpenCL examples. I had a few questions. The example vector addition kernel looks like this:

#define BUFFER_SIZE 256
kernel __attribute__((reqd_work_group_size(1, 1, 1)))
void vector_add(global int* c,
                global const int* a,
                global const int* b,
                       const int n_elements)
{
    int arrayA[BUFFER_SIZE];
    int arrayB[BUFFER_SIZE];
    for (int i = 0 ; i < n_elements ; i += BUFFER_SIZE)
    {
        int size = BUFFER_SIZE;
        if (i + size > n_elements) size = n_elements - i;
        readA: for (int j = 0 ; j < size ; j++) arrayA[j] = a[i+j];
        readB: for (int j = 0 ; j < size ; j++) arrayB[j] = b[i+j];
        vadd_writeC: for (int j = 0 ; j < size ; j++) c[i+j] = arrayA[j] + arrayB[j];
    }
}

1- The host code uses `enqueueTask` which runs kernel using a single work item. Why not use `enqueueNDRangeKernel`? Does the vector addition even get parallelized when run like this?

2- I was wondering, what is the purpose of 'readA' and 'readB'? why not directly run `c[i+j] = a[i+j] + b[i+j]` ?

3- Do these have something to do with how FPGA should be used with OpenCL? Because when I program vector addition in GPU, I would simply do:

int i = get_global_id(0);
    c[i] = a[i] + b[i];

and the kernel would be run with global size which matches the lengths of the vectors.

4- Why the FPGA example is so different? Is there any pointers or documentation about this?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee