cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
srdatucsd
Adventurer
Adventurer

How to replicate ports created with IP and example design

My last attempt to get this answered 3 weeks ago got me more confused and wasted a ton of trial and error time.  Rather than ask for an explanation here, let me ask if there is a video or tutorial showing step by step how to do the following.

After creating four separately placed instances of an communication IP with the wizard, I want to place them under a top level design and implement.  If you have done this and have an example, I'd appreciate it.  I have received missing or conflicting written or out of date online advice, along with some incomprehensible verbal advice.  I'm new to this.  So I need to see all the steps rather than broad stroke statements.

1.  Do I add the .veo or the .xci or a whole directory or 4 directories to the top (?) or just cut and paste the instantiation templates into the top level .v ?  If directories, is it IP or example design directories?  If files, which files specifically?  If I need to cut and paste anything, what and where?

2.  Once the designs are pasted in, how can I tell which lines in the subdesigns represent I/O ports going to pins that I have to constrain if not so identified by comment?

3.  Equivalently, which signals are ports that I must declare differently in the top level for each port and name the same for each instance?

4.  Is there any difference doing this with a hard IP (eg cmac_usplus) vs a soft IP (eg aurora)?

Thanks in advance??

0 Kudos
5 Replies
yuko.2828
Adventurer
Adventurer

Hi there,

1. I am assuming you are using RTL ( instead of BD ).
Just Instance top modules of all your IPs in the your top module.  It takes time but should be a very simple stuff.

All of your IPs should be generated inside the same Vivado project of your top module.