cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
flydolf12
Newbie
Newbie
128,654 Views
Registered: ‎09-16-2012

ERROR:Simulator:861 - Failed to link the design

Jump to solution

hi

 

i'm a very new student user of xilinx 14.2 design tool who just used it 2 weeks.

 

this week i should do "Simulate Behavioral Model" but i can't....

 

just i saw below messages.. and i don't know what is the matter.

 

 

-----------------------------

 

Started : "Simulate Behavioral Model".

Determining files marked for global include in the design... Running fuse... Command Line: fuse -intstyle ise -incremental -lib unisims_ver -lib unimacro_ver -lib xilinxcorelib_ver -o {E:/2012_fall_ISE Project/3rd week/1bit full adder/full_adder1/full_adder1_TB_isim_beh.exe} -prj {E:/2012_fall_ISE Project/3rd week/1bit full adder/full_adder1/full_adder1_TB_beh.prj} work.full_adder1_TB work.glbl {} Running: C:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\ISE\bin\nt\unwrapped\fuse.exe -intstyle ise -incremental -lib unisims_ver -lib unimacro_ver -lib xilinxcorelib_ver -o E:/2012_fall_ISE Project/3rd week/1bit full adder/full_adder1/full_adder1_TB_isim_beh.exe -prj E:/2012_fall_ISE Project/3rd week/1bit full adder/full_adder1/full_adder1_TB_beh.prj work.full_adder1_TB work.glbl ISim P.28xd (signature 0x1048c146) Number of CPUs detected in this system: 2 Turning on mult-threading, number of parallel sub-compilation jobs: 4 Determining compilation order of HDL files Analyzing Verilog file "E:/2012_fall_ISE Project/3rd week/1bit full adder/full_adder1/half_adder1.v" into library work Analyzing Verilog file "E:/2012_fall_ISE Project/3rd week/1bit full adder/full_adder1/full_adder1.v" into library work Analyzing Verilog file "E:/2012_fall_ISE Project/3rd week/1bit full adder/full_adder1/full_adder1_TB.v" into library work Analyzing Verilog file "C:/Xilinx/14.2/ISE_DS/ISE//verilog/src/glbl.v" into library work Starting static elaboration Completed static elaboration Fuse Memory Usage: 104956 KB Fuse CPU Usage: 327 ms Compiling module half_adder Compiling module full_adder Compiling module full_adder1_TB Compiling module glbl Time Resolution for simulation is 1ps. Waiting for 3 sub-compilation(s) to finish...

 

ERROR:Simulator:861 - Failed to link the design

Process "Simulate Behavioral Model" failed

 

-------------------------------------

 

i've obeied the procedure in my reference but not working. 

 

so i re thought and re did but don't know why..

 

in my friend's computer with OS windows 7, that works well with same source but not mine..

 

hmm..by any chance, doesn't xilinx 14.2 support OS windows 8 yet??

 

my OS is windows 8 32bit enterprise k RTM ver.

 

is this a OS compatibility problem or just my mistake in doing my procedure??

 

i want to know if there is anyone whose OS is windows 8 and Isim works well!!!

 

i can't find about 'operating xilinx in windows 8' in my country's sites.

 

please tell me :)

 

 

 

P.S.  sorry for my poor English, i don't know english well 'cause i'm Korean,

 

if i could use Korean, I would say what i think and want more concretely..ㅠㅠ

 

anyway thanks for reading..& please reply if you knows~

0 Kudos
52 Replies
chavez8121
Newbie
Newbie
14,514 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2015

Perfect fix for me. Thank you very much!

0 Kudos
rakesh_ind
Newbie
Newbie
14,436 Views
Registered: ‎07-08-2015

Probliem Solved

----------------------

(1) First download MinGW latest version

(2)Then Copy all contene from MinGW from C

(3)And Paste these into E:\Xilinx\14.2\ISE_DS\ISE\gnu\MinGW\5.0.0\nt

----> In my case i have installed xilinx in E ; For U this may be different

(4)No check the problem will be solved

yuvi108032
Newbie
Newbie
14,284 Views
Registered: ‎07-20-2015

pls solve my problem

 

0 Kudos
evanomar15
Newbie
Newbie
13,675 Views
Registered: ‎10-06-2015

HI, 

 

I am very new to using this program as a student, and when i try to simulate everytime i get 861 Error , I am running W8 32bit i my computer is there anything I could do to fix it.

 

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Anonymous
Not applicable
13,018 Views

Hi

I've tried in compatibility mode with W7 but it doesn't work well.

Do you have any solution for this problem?

 

Regards

 

Ricardo

0 Kudos
c150186.learn
Newbie
Newbie
12,827 Views
Registered: ‎03-01-2016

 


@lishunan246 wrote:

This is because the MinGW that ISim uses doesn't work with Windows 8. Consider install a new version of MinGW and paste it to C:\Xilinx\12.4\ISE_DS\ISE\gnu\MinGW


thanks it worked

0 Kudos
gaurav_acad
Contributor
Contributor
12,262 Views
Registered: ‎05-24-2013

permanent solution 1: on win 10 

Find the "installation directory \ Xilinx \ 14.x \ ISE_DS \ ISE \ gnu \ MinGW \ 5.0.0 \ nt \ libexec \ gcc \ mingw32 \ 3.4.2 \ collect2.exe" and delete it and re-run the emulator, the problem resolved! !

 

ya don't worry just delete this or cut and paste somewhere as else, now re run the code or test bench it will work.

 

keep on coding and sharing

please accept the solution if find working

 

No need to update any minGW

apostolis
Newbie
Newbie
12,136 Views
Registered: ‎08-19-2016

gaurav_acad your solution worked fine for me.. thank you very much!

I followed the path you described and deleted the collect2.

 

I'm using a 32 bit windows 10 (automatically upgraded from win7 by microsoft) and ISE 14.7

0 Kudos
warntresk
Newbie
Newbie
12,037 Views
Registered: ‎09-04-2016

it worked, thanks ALOT!

0 Kudos
hardwareheini
Visitor
Visitor
11,664 Views
Registered: ‎11-08-2016
The solution from gaurav_acad worked perfectly for me. I am on Windows 10 using PlanAhead. Even a minimal testbench example gave me a "Not Linkable"-Error. Deleting "collect2.exe" did the trick: ISIM is now starting.
0 Kudos
xilinxtuhin
Newbie
Newbie
9,105 Views
Registered: ‎05-24-2017

It is working now.

0 Kudos
akarsh98
Newbie
Newbie
8,858 Views
Registered: ‎08-12-2017
gaurav_acad your solution worked on win 8 too. thanks.
0 Kudos
realistic
Newbie
Newbie
8,771 Views
Registered: ‎08-22-2017

thank you so much my friends ıts working perfectly

0 Kudos
umang885
Newbie
Newbie
8,506 Views
Registered: ‎10-04-2017

I recently installed ISE 14.7 on my windows 10 laptop. I write a simple code for 3 input xor gate and could synthesize rtl and technology schematic but unfortunately could not simulate the behavioral model using ISim Simulator.

It was showing the above-stated error. 

I have also linked matlab 2013b with xilinx system generator. 

Please help me out asap; I have a mini project to be submitted next week.

0 Kudos
whatsupflip
Newbie
Newbie
8,419 Views
Registered: ‎10-13-2017

Dragon here,

 

This solution work on windows 10 and i tried on a HP PC Gaming Comp.

0 Kudos
hiep.lqdu
Newbie
Newbie
8,104 Views
Registered: ‎11-22-2017

Well, I use ISE 14.7 in windows 10. If you want simulate your project, you should try the 64-bit Project Navigator. But it is not convenient, you have to crack this program.

Step 1: Open your installation folder: Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\lib\nt64

Step 2: Find "libPortability.dll" and rename to "libPortability.dll.orig"

Step 3: Copy "libPortabilityNOSH.dll" to same folder and rename it to "libPortability.dll"

You will have 3 files in this folder "Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\lib\nt64"

- libPortability.dll.orig

- libPortability.dll

- libPortabilityNOSH.dll

Step 4: Find the folder: "Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\common\lib\nt64" and do Step 2 and Step 3

P/S: You can watch this video to crack, however it is Vietnamese Tutorial https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRNvcoQkF6M

gaurav_acad
Contributor
Contributor
7,795 Views
Registered: ‎05-24-2013
hi friend If you want to link system generator , you may have issues reason;
First: At the time of installation if you don't have compatible MATLAB version for ISE
Second : if MATLAb is not installed a time of Xilinx installation.

In both the case find the compatible version and then open start menu, right click on system generator icon to configure matlab and using run as Admin. configure the setting.
gaurav_acad
Contributor
Contributor
7,791 Views
Registered: ‎05-24-2013

solution @Anonymousno need to downgrade, just see my original post to get rid of the error

 

 

Please mark that as solution, downgrade is not required.

fredjobsearch
Visitor
Visitor
6,930 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2012

I had the same running isim problem with Xilinx-ISE under Windows 10..

I'm not using any screwy mingw or whatever that Linux emulation some people seem to be using is in the comments.

 

And I got it to work!!

Noticed there is a nt and nt64. Check the path by right clicking on the ISE Design Suite 14.7 icon.

Target Path : C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\settings64.bat C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\bin\nt64\ise.exe

Notice the "nt64".. it was "nt" after installation... and isim had the 861 error.

When I ran it with the "nt64" running the executables.. scripts or whatever in the nt64 directory it worked when I ran isim.

Compiling and everything seemed to work fine in the /nt/ directory(but not isim)..

Why wouldn't it default set it to /nt64/ directory since it is a 64-bit system.

Since these days everything is 64-bit I speculate maybe they don't bother to test the 32-bit versions as much so miss more errors... But that is just speculation. 

From the [help]-[about] it shows if it is /nt/ or /nt64/.

 

So if you are running /nt/ and isim gives the 861 error try /nt64/..

Rebuilding-ALL might not hurt in implementation and redo all simulation.. probably won't help either but might as well if things are failing.

 

If this helps anybody. No thanks necessary. Please send me money.., lots of money.

0 Kudos
asiwarski1
Newbie
Newbie
6,411 Views
Registered: ‎05-04-2018

Huge help my friend!  Prior in doing this work-around, I had no luck running the 64bit version on Windows 10. I had given up and just used the 32bit version.  I tried to sim a project in the 32bit version and got the 861 error and begun digging.

 

One quick tweak I did because I didn't have libPortabilityNOSH.dll in C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\common\lib\nt64.  In this directory...

I renamed libPortability.dll to libPortability.dll.orig and copied libPortability.dll and libPortabilityNOSH I created in step 2 & 3 located in C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\lib\nt64 to C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\common\lib\nt64 so I had a 3 files.  So far this has worked great!!!  Really appreciate the info!

0 Kudos
abyasser6
Newbie
Newbie
5,765 Views
Registered: ‎10-08-2018
Life savior, thanks a lot
0 Kudos
5,202 Views
Registered: ‎12-06-2018

Deleting collect2.exe does not work for me.

ise version-14.7

windows 10, 64bit. No antivirus used.

0 Kudos
aliebrmy
Newbie
Newbie
4,280 Views
Registered: ‎10-18-2018
thanks a lot :))))))))
0 Kudos