cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable
6,289 Views

Execute simulation step stuck

Jump to solution

Hello,

 

I have W10 Eduction installed, and tried to simulate the BFT sample. Indepenant of which version of Vivado is use (2015.x, 2016.x or 2017.x) it never finished the "execute simulation step"

I tried the same on a W10 Pro machine, and all ran without problems.

 

Any clues what could be the problem?

 

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
8,403 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @Anonymous,

 

Good news. Could you mark this issue as solved?

 

Thanks,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
6,278 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @Anonymous,

 

Do you have the same right on both machine? Could it be that the toll does not have the right to create files in a folder?

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable
6,270 Views

Hi,

 

I'm admin on both machines. Nevertheless I will check, Any specific folder I should check?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
6,267 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @Anonymous,

 

I would check the xilinx installation path, the folder from where you are launching vivado and the project folder.

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable
6,218 Views

Hi,

 

I solved the issue by disabling my virusscanner (during installation and simulation). I'm using AVG.

I've I re-enable the virusscanner, simulation will not run.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
8,404 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @Anonymous,

 

Good news. Could you mark this issue as solved?

 

Thanks,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
3,853 Views
Registered: ‎01-08-2018

I've just run into the same issue : Vivado 2018.1 simulation won't run with AVG anti virus on - it just hangs.

 

Ok I can turn off anti virus to make it work.

 

I see this is marked as solved. Well there is a workaround but it is not really solved.

 

Is the issue with Xilinx or AVG? Surely one of these needs fixing to really solve the issue?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
3,735 Views
Registered: ‎01-08-2018

Just to add...

As I found Xilinx simulator gets stuck with AVG antivirus turned on, I swapped to using Avast antivirus. Initially I got good results, but today I found the simulator also got stuck with Avast turned on and needed to be disabled.

On my work machine I use eset antivirus without issue - but it seems both AVG and Avast are not compatible with the Xilinx simulator - would be good to know if Xilinx are going to fix this or not.

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
2,996 Views
Registered: ‎01-08-2018

This is still an issue and will raise as new topic to see if I can get a response

Thanks

Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
1,902 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2019

I see, and do you know how to stop virusscanning?

0 Kudos