cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
8,671 Views
Registered: ‎10-05-2015

Failed to find the 'modelsim' simulator executable during the use of compile_simlib

Jump to solution

Hi all,

   I want to use modelsim for functional simulation. Modelsim requires the complied library. When I used the command compile_simlib to simulate it, the error "Failed to find the 'mdelsim' simulator executable" shows. I think it maybe a problem about setting. How it can be solved? Thanks much for the help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
15,172 Views
Registered: ‎07-01-2015

Re: Failed to find the 'modelsim' simulator executable during the use of compile_simlib

Jump to solution

Hi @zhengyudennis1,

 

1. You have to set the modelsim installation path in Tools->options->General->modelsim install path.(see the attached snapshot)

2.  Check for the compiled library location in the simulation settings.(snapshot attached)

 

Thanks,
Arpan

 

Thanks,
Arpan
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

1.JPG
2.JPG
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
15,173 Views
Registered: ‎07-01-2015

Re: Failed to find the 'modelsim' simulator executable during the use of compile_simlib

Jump to solution

Hi @zhengyudennis1,

 

1. You have to set the modelsim installation path in Tools->options->General->modelsim install path.(see the attached snapshot)

2.  Check for the compiled library location in the simulation settings.(snapshot attached)

 

Thanks,
Arpan

 

Thanks,
Arpan
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

1.JPG
2.JPG
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
8,652 Views
Registered: ‎10-05-2015

Re: Failed to find the 'modelsim' simulator executable during the use of compile_simlib

Jump to solution

Hi,

   Thanks much for the reply. Do you mean that I should install modelsim separately and vivado does not have it? 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
8,644 Views
Registered: ‎07-01-2015

Re: Failed to find the 'modelsim' simulator executable during the use of compile_simlib

Jump to solution

Hi @zhengyudennis1,

 

Install modelsim for it. We support specific versions of modelsim in each release. Check the supported versions before installation.

 

Thanks,
Arpan

Thanks,
Arpan
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
8,642 Views
Registered: ‎10-05-2015

Re: Failed to find the 'modelsim' simulator executable during the use of compile_simlib

Jump to solution

OK. Thanks.

0 Kudos