Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kimjaewon
Adventurer
Adventurer

Functional vs Timing simulation in VIVADO

Jump to solution

Hello, I'm new in Xilinx Vivado and I have some questions about simulation.

I see there are 5 different simulation in Xilinx as below fig. 1.

fig. 1fig. 1

So I tried every 5 simulation as below.

BehavioralBehavioral

Post-Synthesis FunctionalPost-Synthesis Functional

Post-Synthesis TimingPost-Synthesis Timing

Post-Implementation FunctionalPost-Implementation Functional

Post-Implementation TimingPost-Implementation Timing

I can see that Behavioral, Post-Synthesis Functional and Post-Implementation Functional show same results. 

I think this is because behavioral and functional ignores time information (maybe cell, propagate delay or rising/falling/hold time or whatever) and represents only pure logic but I'm not sure about it.

But Post-Synthesis Timing and Post-Implementation Timing looks different. 

They might have 

I guess those two applied timing information but although they both applied it, they look different.

Is is that Post-Synthesis Timing cares only about cell delays but Post-Implementation Timing cares both the cell delays and the routing delays occurred from mapping? It is my estimation so I'm not sure about it.

Additionally, in Post-Implementation Timing, the output(led_out) goes to a wrong value '05' for a very short moment and then returns to the right value '07'. Why does this happened?

Thanks for your help.

ps. I heard that I need to add sdf. file to do the timing simulation but I have never done that.

I think the Vivado automatically added the sdf. file on behalf of me so that the timing simulation could differ from the functional simulation. Am I correct?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
eilert
Teacher
Teacher

Hi,

you assumptions are mostly correct.

For the post synthesis timing simulation: