UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor antda
Visitor

ISim Warning about violation

Hi everybody! :)

I'm quite new in using Xilinx software and I have many warnings in an ISim post-PAR simulation of my project on a Virtex-6 XC6VLX760 device like this:

"at 11116055 ps(2), Instance /tb/uut/EL2/RU/ExRB/RAM1/Mram_bank/ : Warning: /X_RAMB18E1 HOLD Low VIOLATION ON ENBWREN WITH RESPECT TO CLKBWRCLK;

Expected := 0.174 ns; Observed := 0.081 ns; At : 11116.055 ns"

I guess it is a problem with block RAMs I'm using in the design, but I haven't a very clear idea about.

Has anyone of you ever had the same issue? Have I to worry about it? How can I solve?

Thanks in advance,
Antonio

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Instructor
Instructor

Re: ISim Warning about violation

There can be many explanations for hold violations in post P&R timing simulation.  Here's some common ones:

1) Your design did not meet the timing requirements.  If this is the case, the hold violations should also

show up in static timing analysis.  Hold time is checked even for unconstrained paths, so this should be

an easy one to look up.

2) The paths with the hold violation are using unrelated clocks, and therefore should not be check for

setup or hold violations.  If this is the case, you may need to change some settings when you generate

the timing model.  For example the clock crossing paths in a FIFO need to be ignored.

3) The design is fine, but your testbench stimulus does not meet the constraints you provided

to the timing analysis tools in the UCF.  A common case is using a testbench designed for