UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor exgreyfox
Visitor
41,603 Views
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

I have ModelSim 6.5 but when I try to simulate my design this is the message that appears:

 

---------------------------
ISE Project Navigator
---------------------------
WARNING: Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information. To resolve this issue, you can perform either of the following:

 - If the libraries are already pre-compiled, point to them using one of the following methods:
 * Set the MODELSIM environment variable to point to the modelsim.ini file
 * Set the WD_MGC environment variable to point to the directory containing the modelsim.ini file
 * Copy the modelsim.ini file to the project directory
 * Set the simulation library path in the "Compiled Library Directory" property in either the "Compile HDL Simulation Libraries" or "Simulate Behavioral Model" processes.

- If the libraries are not yet compiled, compile them by running the "Compile HDL Simulation Libraries" process or by running the 'compxlib' application on a command line, and then point to the compiled libraries according to the method described above.

Would you like to abort the simulation process now?

Note: To turn off this dialog box, set the "Ignore Pre-Compiled Library Warning Check" process property to true

---------------------------
Yes   No   
---------------------------

 

If I go and set the environmental variables as shown Xilinx says that it does not have permission to access the pre-compiled libraries. Not really sure what to do here. Any help is greatly appreciated.  Im using Xilinx 12.4 by the way. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
55,644 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

Probably modelsim.ini hasn't been updated. i.e. the libraries haven't been properly mapped.

Type 'where' in Transcript window to get which modelsim.ini is used. Open that ini file and see if  you can find something like this

 

secureip = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/secureip
unisim = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/unisim
unimacro = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/unimacro
unisims_ver = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/unisims_ver
unimacro_ver = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/unimacro_ver
simprim = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/simprim
simprims_ver = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/simprims_ver
xilinxcorelib = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/xilinxcorelib
xilinxcorelib_ver = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/xilinxcorelib_ver

......

 

If not, go to the directory where you run compxlib. For example, if you type from

C:\Xilinx\12.4\ISE_DS>compxlib

you need to go to "C:\Xilinx\12.4\ISE_DS" and copy modelsim.ini from that path to replace the above one.

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
13 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
41,598 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

Have you ever compiled simulation libraries with "compxlib"? If you have and modelsim.ini has been updated, you can just set the "Ignore Pre-Compiled Library Warning Check" process property to true to bypass this check.

 

Alternatively, select No in the dialog box to continue the simulation process. This warning doesn't prevent you from launching Modelsim.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor exgreyfox
Visitor
41,594 Views
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

If i do "compxlib" in the transcript window in vsim, it tells me # invalid command name "compxlib" i know this command compiles the libraries but where do i type it?

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
41,589 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

Open a command prompt from

Start -> Xilinx ISE Design Suite 12.4 -> Accessories -> ISE Design Suite Command Prompt

and type 'compxlib' to open up a wizard.

 

Or, type compxlib command directly. For command options, please refer to

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx12_4/devref.pdf

Chapter 25 Compxlib

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor exgreyfox
Visitor
41,585 Views
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

I have compiled the libraries, but i am still getting the same error. Is there anything further i have to do with  the modelsim.ini 

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
41,567 Views
Registered: ‎11-16-2007

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

Where have you compiled the libraries to? To the default location which is $XILINX/<language>/<simulator>?

If not then you need to change the 'Compiled Library directory' in the process properties to the location where you have compiled the libraries.

Thanks,
-PK
sim_prop.JPG
0 Kudos
Visitor exgreyfox
Visitor
41,564 Views
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

Thank you that got it to run. But now when I am trying to simulate my project these are the errors which I receive> Any ideas?

 

 

# do {PAK_Hardware_tb.fdo} 
# Model Technology ModelSim SE vlog 6.5b Compiler 2009.05 May 21 2009
# -- Compiling module Clamp_Shift_Hardware
# -- Compiling module Instruction_Hardware_v
# -- Compiling module Pack
# Top level modules:
# Instruction_Hardware_v
# Model Technology ModelSim SE vlog 6.5b Compiler 2009.05 May 21 2009
# -- Compiling module PAK_Hardware_tb
# Top level modules:
# PAK_Hardware_tb
# Model Technology ModelSim SE vlog 6.5b Compiler 2009.05 May 21 2009
# -- Compiling module glbl
# Top level modules:
# glbl
# vsim -L xilinxcorelib_ver -L unisims_ver -lib work -voptargs=\"+acc\" -t 1ps work.PAK_Hardware_tb glbl 
# ** Note: (vsim-3812) Design is being optimized...
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_tb.v(81): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_tb.v(81): Library unisims_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(84): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(84): Library unisims_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library unisims_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library unisims_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.
# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".
# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)
# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library unisims_ver not found.
# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.
# Optimization failed
# Error loading design
# Error: Error loading design 
#        Pausing macro execution 
# MACRO ./PAK_Hardware_tb.fdo PAUSED at line 29

# do {PAK_Hardware_tb.fdo} # Model Technology ModelSim SE vlog 6.5b Compiler 2009.05 May 21 2009# -- Compiling module Clamp_Shift_Hardware# -- Compiling module Instruction_Hardware_v# -- Compiling module Pack# # Top level modules:# Instruction_Hardware_v# Model Technology ModelSim SE vlog 6.5b Compiler 2009.05 May 21 2009# -- Compiling module PAK_Hardware_tb# # Top level modules:# PAK_Hardware_tb# Model Technology ModelSim SE vlog 6.5b Compiler 2009.05 May 21 2009# -- Compiling module glbl# # Top level modules:# glbl# vsim -L xilinxcorelib_ver -L unisims_ver -lib work -voptargs=\"+acc\" -t 1ps work.PAK_Hardware_tb glbl # ** Note: (vsim-3812) Design is being optimized...# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_tb.v(81): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_tb.v(81): Library unisims_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(84): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(84): Library unisims_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library unisims_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library unisims_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'xilinxcorelib_ver' at "xilinxcorelib_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library xilinxcorelib_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'xilinxcorelib_ver'.# ** Error: (vopt-19) Failed to access library 'unisims_ver' at "unisims_ver".# No such file or directory. (errno = ENOENT)# ** Error: PAK_Hardware_v.v(57): Library unisims_ver not found.# ** Warning: Unable to find library 'unisims_ver'.# Optimization failed# Error loading design# Error: Error loading design #        Pausing macro execution # MACRO ./PAK_Hardware_tb.fdo PAUSED at line 29

 

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
55,645 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

Probably modelsim.ini hasn't been updated. i.e. the libraries haven't been properly mapped.

Type 'where' in Transcript window to get which modelsim.ini is used. Open that ini file and see if  you can find something like this

 

secureip = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/secureip
unisim = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/unisim
unimacro = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/unimacro
unisims_ver = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/unisims_ver
unimacro_ver = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/unimacro_ver
simprim = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/simprim
simprims_ver = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/simprims_ver
xilinxcorelib = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/xilinxcorelib
xilinxcorelib_ver = C:\sim_lib\mti_se_6.4b/xilinxcorelib_ver

......

 

If not, go to the directory where you run compxlib. For example, if you type from

C:\Xilinx\12.4\ISE_DS>compxlib

you need to go to "C:\Xilinx\12.4\ISE_DS" and copy modelsim.ini from that path to replace the above one.

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visitor exgreyfox
Visitor
41,552 Views
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution
Ahhh thank you, finally up and running.
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
38,593 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2012

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

thx for your reply

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
12,145 Views
Registered: ‎03-08-2012

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

It helps me ,too ~~~~~

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Newbie nehagoyal
Newbie
11,695 Views
Registered: ‎07-03-2013

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

I am getting the following error in the transcript page of ModelSim after i start to simulate it via Xilinx. please help.

 

Reading C:/Modeltech_pe_edu_10.2b/tcl/vsim/pref.tcl
# do {and_1.fdo}
# ** Warning: (vlib-34) Library already exists at "work".
#
# Model Technology ModelSim PE Student Edition vcom 10.2b Compiler 2013.05 May 17 2013
# -- Loading package STANDARD
# -- Loading package TEXTIO
# -- Loading package std_logic_1164
# -- Compiling entity and_1
# -- Compiling architecture Behavioral of and_1
# // ModelSim PE Student Edition 10.2b May 17 2013
# //
# // Copyright 1991-2013 Mentor Graphics Corporation
# // All Rights Reserved.
# //
# // THIS WORK CONTAINS TRADE SECRET AND PROPRIETARY INFORMATION
# // WHICH IS THE PROPERTY OF MENTOR GRAPHICS CORPORATION OR ITS
# // LICENSORS AND IS SUBJECT TO LICENSE TERMS.
# //
# // NOT FOR CORPORATE OR PRODUCTION USE.
# // THE ModelSim PE Student Edition IS NOT A SUPPORTED PRODUCT.
# // FOR HIGHER EDUCATION PURPOSES ONLY
# //
# vsim -lib work -voptargs=\"+acc\" -t 1ps work.and_1
# ** Error: ModelSim PE Student Edition license key file not found at C:\Modeltech_pe_edu_10.2b\win32pe_edu\..\student_license.dat.
# ** FATAL ERROR: ModelSim PE Student Edition licensing failure due to one or more problems with the license key such as:
# - it is not found
# - it has expired
# - it is not for this user
# - it is not for this computer
# - it is not for this version of ModelSim PE Student Edition.
#
# Please go to http://www.model.com and download an updated copy of the ModelSim PE Student Edition.
# Error loading design
# Error: Error loading design
# Pausing macro execution
# MACRO ./and_1.fdo PAUSED at line 27

0 Kudos
Visitor amahpour
Visitor
9,990 Views
Registered: ‎01-28-2015

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

Just for the record here is what I did (hopefully it helps you because the previous instructions weren't that clear to me):

 

1. Run ModelSim and expect the error

 

2. Type "where" in the prompt. My output was : "Project is: C:/Modeltech_pe_edu_10.4/win32pe_edu/../modelsim.ini" which meant that the ModelSim.ini file that Model sim is using is actually located in "C:/Modeltech_pe_edu_10.4/"

 

3. Find location of your generated Xilinx library. Your Xilinx project folder (where the .prj file is located) will have an output log file called "compxlib.log" if you compiled the libraries when your project was open using ISE (versus running compxlib in standalone mode)

 

4. Around line 44 is will say that it is compiling the libraries to a directory (mine was "C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\verilog\mti_pe\10.4\nt64"). Locate the NEW modelsim.ini file there.

 

5. Open the modelsim.ini file and copy all the new Xilinx library paths into the old modelsim.ini (found in step 2). For example I copied 210 lines worth of paths/locations that started with:

secureip = C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\verilog\mti_pe\10.4\nt64/secureip
unisim = C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\vhdl\mti_pe\10.4\nt64/unisim

Make sure to put it in the same location as the old ModelSim.ini

 

6. Rerun ModelSim and you shouldn't get any more compile errors.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,981 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: ModelSim Failed to get the pre-compiled simulation library information

Jump to solution

Hello @nehagoyal 

 

Seems like you do not have a license or you have expired license of modelsim.

 

Please contact modelsim to get the license.

 

Thanks,

Vinay

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos