UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor karen254
Visitor
302 Views
Registered: ‎05-26-2019

Number of cycles required to simulate

Jump to solution

Hello,

I am working on Vivado 2018.3 and I am interested in knowing the number of cycles that my code requires to execute. However, in the Timing Report shown I don't see this information:

vhdl_1.png

In Vivado HLS, starting from a C code, after the synthesis and the cosimulation, I am able to see the latency of the vhdl, as shown below. How can I see the same information in Vivado? In Vivado I have both the vhdl and its test bench. 

table1.png

Thanks in advance for the help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Contributor
Contributor
259 Views
Registered: ‎09-01-2015

Re: Number of cycles required to simulate

Jump to solution

When you look at the waveform .. its the number of clocks between when you start whatever it is you are doing and when you finsh or get the answer.

 

Mike

6 Replies
Scholar richardhead
Scholar
282 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

Re: Number of cycles required to simulate

Jump to solution

Its a fairly meaningless question - FPGAs and logic runs forever.

If you are looking for the latency, you can determine it from the testbench.

0 Kudos
Visitor karen254
Visitor
278 Views
Registered: ‎05-26-2019

Re: Number of cycles required to simulate

Jump to solution

Thanks for your answer. Could you please tell me how to find the latency from the test bench? 

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
260 Views
Registered: ‎09-01-2015

Re: Number of cycles required to simulate

Jump to solution

When you look at the waveform .. its the number of clocks between when you start whatever it is you are doing and when you finsh or get the answer.

 

Mike

Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
228 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

回复: Number of cycles required to simulate

Jump to solution

With regards to your timing summary report, 'inf' means the path is ignored.

Did you ever specify period constraint with create_clock in your constraint file?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visitor karen254
Visitor
206 Views
Registered: ‎05-26-2019

Re: Number of cycles required to simulate

Jump to solution

@mike_james_lewis  Thank you! I now realize it was silly question, but this is the only way we have to learn, right? Thanks!!

0 Kudos
Visitor karen254
Visitor
201 Views
Registered: ‎05-26-2019

回复: Number of cycles required to simulate

Jump to solution
@graces Thank you, I already took a look at it!
0 Kudos