cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rifat_buet
Newbie
Newbie
28,960 Views
Registered: ‎06-28-2017

Running TCL file in vivado TCL shell

Jump to solution

Hello everyone. This might be a simplest question to ask.

 

For the project I am working, I have two .tcl files. According to the instruction I need to run one tcl file first using Vivado HLS and I did that successfully to generate IP core usiing this command -----  vivado_hls -f <filename>.tcl  

 

Now I need to generate bitstream by running another .tcl file but this time using Vivado, not the vivado hls. 

 

If anyone can give me some hints or instructions I would highly appreciate that. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
36,032 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @rifat_buet,

 

As mentioned by @hbucher you can use the TCL console from Vivado GUI using source.

 

If you don't want to open the GUI there is two other way

-> Open vivado in tcl mode and source the script

    1. vivado -mode tcl

    2. source script.tcl

 

-> Open vivado in batch mode sourcing the script

   1. vivado -mode batch myscript.tcl

 

Hope that helps,

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

4 Replies
hbucher
Scholar
Scholar
28,949 Views
Registered: ‎03-22-2016

@rifat_buet

The easiest way is just open Vivado and type "source <filename>" in the TCL console

Beware that you might need to change directory so just do "cd <directory>" like "cd c:\Users\Jordan\Vivado"

If you do need to know where you are type "pwd" 

See pic attached.

Cheatsheet: https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2017_2/ug975-vivado-quick-reference.pdf

Full doc on TCL: https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2017_2/ug894-vivado-tcl-scripting.pdf

vitorian.com --- We do this for fun. Always give kudos. Accept as solution if your question was answered.
I will not answer to personal messages - use the forums instead.
tcl.PNG
florentw
Moderator
Moderator
36,033 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi @rifat_buet,

 

As mentioned by @hbucher you can use the TCL console from Vivado GUI using source.

 

If you don't want to open the GUI there is two other way

-> Open vivado in tcl mode and source the script

    1. vivado -mode tcl

    2. source script.tcl

 

-> Open vivado in batch mode sourcing the script

   1. vivado -mode batch myscript.tcl

 

Hope that helps,

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

amaccre
Moderator
Moderator
28,854 Views
Registered: ‎04-24-2013

Hi @rifat_buet,

 

You can also run the tcl from the Tools, Run Tcl Script... menu in Vivado:

 

Untitled.png

 

If the output is not where you expect to see it then it will be placed in the working directory.

You can check the location of this with the pwd command in the tcl console.

 

Best Regards
Aidan

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if this answered your question
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and may help other users
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
rifat_buet
Newbie
Newbie
28,834 Views
Registered: ‎06-28-2017

@hbucher thak you very much for the help, it worked.