Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

System Verification Methodologies - Tools & Capabilities

Jump to solution

Hi all,

I need to verify a system of 2 or more FPGA boards (VCU118). I'm totally new to verification, so I have a few questions:

1) Apart from UVM, UVVM and OSVVM, are there any other verification frameworks?

2) Is it possible to migrate a design from Vivado that uses Xilinx IP cores and import it in GHDL or Modelsim to verify it?

3) Are there different capabilities between these three methodologies? I.e. is some superior to others?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

Usually, you would verify smaller blocks and then do the high level verification on the board itself as this is a much faster process. Are you expecting to do simulation on an entire two board system? or can you do unit tests?

To answer questions directly

1. The other main ones will be VUNIT and CocoTB. All the listed frameworks and methodologies are based in differenct languages:

UVVM and OSVVM are VHDL verification frameworks

UVM is written in SystemVerilog

CocoTB and VUnit are python based with Verilog and VHDL libraries.

Some can easily interplay with others. Eg. you can easily use VUnit and OSVVM together, because they may provide different capabilities in certain areas.