cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer
Observer
9,544 Views
Registered: ‎06-04-2010

Tracing vhdl variables

Jump to solution

Is it possible to add VHDL variables to the Vivado simulator wave window?

 

Cheers

baldrik.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
13,918 Views
Registered: ‎06-04-2010

Re: Tracing vhdl variables

Jump to solution

Hi htsvn,

              Pardon me, I did not look closely enough at the image you posted. It appears yo have added the variable j to the wave window. I installed Vivado 2013.4 again (I am not using series 7 devices so generally use ISE). But if I right click a variable and select add to wave window I get this message at the console:

 

WARNING: Simulation object /ram_to_stream_TB/UUT/dataPipe/addr was not traceable in the design for the following reason:
Vivado Simulator does not yet support tracing of VHDL variables.
ERROR: [Wavedata 42-43] There are no traceable objects to add.

Which answers my original question in the way I was trying to avoid.

 

How did you do it? Are you magic? Do you have the next unreleased version of Vivado?

 

Cheers

baldrik

 

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,534 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: Tracing vhdl variables

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

The vhdl variables will be a part of objects window. So try to go to the objects window --> select on variables as shown attached with this post.

 

--HS

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Capture.PNG
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
9,530 Views
Registered: ‎04-17-2011

Re: Tracing vhdl variables

Jump to solution
http://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Simulation-and-Verification/Tracing-VHDL-variables/td-p/239880
Regards,
Debraj
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
9,507 Views
Registered: ‎06-04-2010

Re: Tracing vhdl variables

Jump to solution

Thanks Debraj,

Yes I did read that post before I posted its all about the future, are we there yet?

 

I guess the more specific question is "can you trace vhdl variables with Vivado simulator yet?"

If no, any estimate of when?

 

I am using the trial of ModelSim at the moment to sort out issues.

 

baldrik

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
9,504 Views
Registered: ‎06-04-2010

Re: Tracing vhdl variables

Jump to solution

Hi htsvn,

        Though you can see them in the objects window, you cannot add them to the wave window, at least the last time I tried you could not.

 

Kudos for the attempt to be actually helpful though.

 

Cheers

baldrik.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
13,919 Views
Registered: ‎06-04-2010

Re: Tracing vhdl variables

Jump to solution

Hi htsvn,

              Pardon me, I did not look closely enough at the image you posted. It appears yo have added the variable j to the wave window. I installed Vivado 2013.4 again (I am not using series 7 devices so generally use ISE). But if I right click a variable and select add to wave window I get this message at the console:

 

WARNING: Simulation object /ram_to_stream_TB/UUT/dataPipe/addr was not traceable in the design for the following reason:
Vivado Simulator does not yet support tracing of VHDL variables.
ERROR: [Wavedata 42-43] There are no traceable objects to add.

Which answers my original question in the way I was trying to avoid.

 

How did you do it? Are you magic? Do you have the next unreleased version of Vivado?

 

Cheers

baldrik

 

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos