cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ratorga
Visitor
Visitor
7,860 Views
Registered: ‎12-17-2015

Vivado 2015.3 running very slow when elaborating and compiling a design for behavioral simulation

Why is it so slow? Nobody reports on this, but there is a huge performance decreasing regards to Vivado 2015.2. When using Xelab in Vivado 2015.2 multiple clangs are used for compiling the design, but this is not the default behavior in Vivado 2015.3, which aparently does everything in a single mono-thread process.

 

When running Vivado 2015.3 Xelab, I can see that the multi-threading option is enabled, but aparently it is not used.

 

Could somebody help me? I would like to get the multi-threading capability working in Vivado 2015.3 Xelab,

5 Replies
vijayak
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,784 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Hi @ratorga

 

Multi-threading is enabled by default. The tool will use multiple cores (if they are available for use) for simulation.

Also try using the latest version of vivado 2015.4 for better results.

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
vijayak
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,478 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Hi @ratorga

 

Did you try with 2015.4? Post the results here.

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
jomarm10
Observer
Observer
6,260 Views
Registered: ‎12-22-2014

Vivado 2015.4 is showing same behaviour for me, simulation process runs over a signle processor,

code compilation is performed using all the available processors, but simulation utilizes only one core.

 

I am running vivado on ubuntu 14.04 LTS

frazavian
Visitor
Visitor
6,048 Views
Registered: ‎11-19-2015

Vivado 2016.1 P&R runs about 4x slower than Vivado 2015.2. It is using all 8 CPUs in my Linux machine. Does anyone know why this is the case? 

 

Thanks...

vijayak
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
6,034 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Hi,

Can you please attach the project archive for us to investigate?

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos