cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
8,561 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Why Vivado 20l5.1 simulation always stuck on Ubuntu 14.04?

Hi everyone,

 

We are trying to run RTL behavioral simulations using Vivado 2015.1 on Ubuntu. But why does it alway stuck? we have already clicked the bottom F3 (Run All) but the simulation still stuck every 5 min or so. As a result, we have to click around the GUI of Vivado such as a Zoon-in bottom to "wake" the simulation so that it can continue running.

 

Why and How to solve it?

 

Really appreciated, 

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
8,546 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: Why Vivado 20l5.1 simulation always stuck on Ubuntu 14.04?

Hi @pligroup,

 

I am not sure why the simulator is behaving such, but can you have a look if this AR helps in your case?
http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/59599.html

 

Thanks,
Nupur

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Accept as solution if it resolved your query, give kudos(click on star) if it led you to the solution.

Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,534 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Re: Why Vivado 20l5.1 simulation always stuck on Ubuntu 14.04?

Hi @pligroup

 

I remember similar issue reported before with other OS. Can you please try using the latest version of Vivado 2015.3.

If you still see the same issue, please attach the design here for us to look into.

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
8,528 Views
Registered: ‎07-21-2014

Re: Why Vivado 20l5.1 simulation always stuck on Ubuntu 14.04?

@pligroup

 

Are you seeing the same behavior with Xilinx example designs also? Can you check and let us know if this is machine specific issue.

 

Thanks,
Anusheel
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Search for documents/answer records related to your device and tool before posting query on forums.
Search related forums and make sure your query is not repeated.

Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helps to resolve your query.
Helpful answer -> Give Kudos
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
8,522 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: Why Vivado 20l5.1 simulation always stuck on Ubuntu 14.04?

Thanks for your reply.

 

Actually, our RTL design is huge but our machine which runs the simulation has only 4GB RAM.

 

Is there a problem with the small RAM?

 

Thanks again

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,516 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Re: Why Vivado 20l5.1 simulation always stuck on Ubuntu 14.04?

Hi @pligroup

Please check the memory requirements based on the device that you are tageting.

http://www.xilinx.com/design-tools/vivado/memory.htm

 

Memory plays a significant role in the performance of the tool.

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,468 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Re: Why Vivado 20l5.1 simulation always stuck on Ubuntu 14.04?

Hi @pligroup

 

Did that helped? Close the thread by marking the solution.

Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos