cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
3,108 Views
Registered: ‎06-22-2017

How to use input ip pins ?

Hi,

Please let me know about the input ip pins.

For example; Spartan-3e ,There are many pins named IP physically connected internally.

It is literally the same pin name, so the same signal should be input to everything.
Thanks.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar
3,104 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

Re: How to use input ip pins ?

They don't all need the same input signal. It might make more sense to label that column "pin function" rather than "pin name" - while the pins might all have the same function they're separate pins that can be used individually.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,059 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: How to use input ip pins ?

I am not very much clear about your post . Can you please elaborate with example. In general i would recommend you to use master UCF file and check user available pin numbers. You can use alternate PIN name as per your design port name. The pin number should be identical to PIN number mention in UCF file
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
3,007 Views
Registered: ‎06-22-2017

Re: How to use input ip pins ?

Thank you for your answer.

Basically, even if the pin names are the same, are not they physically connected internally?
If that is the case, They will be given a different name for the user and We can enter several independent signals.

If so, it means that the name of the pin on the data sheet is incorrect, so we will ask Xilinx to fix it so as to give it a different name.
Is this understanding OK?

nice to meet you.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
2,940 Views
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: How to use input ip pins ?

hi @hyanai,

 

i see you're having query related to pin naming convention ,basically pin naming is used for specifying in UCF file for the implementation process. you cannot change the name pin as specified in the ug for example check this Check "Appendix C" in the following user guide: https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/boards_and_kits/kc705/ug810_KC705_Eval_Bd.pdf.

 

There are two kinds of pins one is user defined pins(naming cannot be changed ) and other are dedicated  pins which user can use them .

 

Thanks

 

S .Chandra sekhar 

 

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regards
Chandra sekhar
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if solution provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
2,918 Views
Registered: ‎06-22-2017

Re: How to use input ip pins ?

Thank you for your reply.

This question is not well understood, so if you organize it again, it will be below.

Can We simply connect another physical signal ?

In other words, as an example
Connect the first IP pin signal A
Connect the second IP pin signal B
· · · · · · · · · ·
Connect the nth IP pin signal Xn

etc

It is whether it is possible or not.

nice to meet you.

0 Kudos