Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dspulator
Observer
Observer

Output IOSTANDARD = LVCMOS18 but Vcco = 3.3

Jump to solution

I'm an FPGA newbie who has inherited a Spartan 6 design.  I have found where some output pins were spec'd with IOSTANDARD = LVCMOS18 but the actual Vcco of the bank they're in is connected to 3.3 V.  These signals power up inactive occasionally.  Could this be due to the improper logic level spec?  What happens when you use the wrong IOSTANDARD logic level for output pins like this?

Thanks,

Gerrit

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
avrumw
Expert
Expert

Gerrit,

They really don't work that way - the output drivers are pure CMOS output stages - there are no comparators or anything.

However, if you want to rule this out, this can be easily fixed in FPGA editor - just load in the NCD files, change the I/O standard for the IOB in question, write out a new NCD file and run bitgen (or I think you can generate a bitfile directly from FPGA editor).

But, I am sure that it won't make any difference.

Avrum

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
avrumw
Expert
Expert

The LVCMOS standards are all "rail-to-rail" standards with conventional input stages (i.e. non-referenced, non-differential).

The output stages pull to VCCO when driving a 1 and to GND when driving a zero. Since your VCCO is 3.3V, these will behave "like" an LVCMOS33 standard, regardless of the fact that they are configured as an LVCMOS18. The only (potential) difference is the drive strength, which may be different in an LVCMOS33 configured pin vs. an LVCMOS18 configured pin (in a VCCO=3.3V banks).