UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem I/O Constraints

Hi, it's my first time working with a FPGA and I have a problem with I/O Constraints.

Goal :

I have an external clock that oscillates at 10 MHz and I want to make a counter that will pulse every second.

HardWare :

I'm currently working on a DLP-FPGA wich have a Xilinx Spartan 3E XC3S250E -4TQ144 on it.

Here's the datasheet of it : DLP-FPGA DataSheet

SoftWare :

I'm working with ISE Design Suite 14.7 and Xilinx PlanAhead 14.7 and coding in VHDL.

I use BitLoadApp to implement the bit file to SPI Flash.

Working on Window 7.

Counter Behavior :

library IEEE;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_UNSIGNED.ALL;

entity Counter is
    Port ( Clock_I : in  STD_LOGIC;
           Clock_O : out  STD_LOGIC);
end Counter;

architecture Behavioral of Counter is

-- Input clock is 10 MHz -> 10^7 Hz

signal signal_count : STD_LOGIC_VECTOR(23 DOWNTO 0); -- 10^7 Hz -> 24 bits

begin

CounterProcess: process(Clock_I)
begin

if Clock_I'EVENT AND Clock_I = '1' then

if signal_count > 10000000 then
			signal_count <= (OTHERS => '0'); -- Reset counter
		else
			signal_count <= signal_count + 1; -- Increment
		end if;

if signal_count < 5000000 then  -- Half clock time - > 5 * 10^6
			Clock_O <= '0';
		else
			Clock_O <= '1';
		end if;

end if;

end process CounterProcess;

end Behavioral;

User Constraints UCF :

NET "Clock_I" LOC = P58;
NET "Clock_O" LOC = P59;

P58 is P2 on DLP-FPGA.

P59 is P4 on DLP-FPGA.

Both are I/O.

See Table 1 of DLP-FPGA DataSheet.  

Problem : 

The problem is that it seem like nothing happen.

The DLP-FPGA only receives the current and pass it to all other ports.