UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor bouthouri
Visitor

Realization of frequency_counter with FPGA SPARTAN 3E

I' am a student who is realizing a frequency counter was based FPGA, I have a Spartan-3E Starter Kit I found difficulty in creating the VHDL code and the steps ...especially as I have to convert the input signal (analog) to digital using ADC present in the development kit....

Is it feasible that the above measurement range is from 1Hz to 50 MHz ????

please help me and thank you in advance ..

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Visitor bouthouri
Visitor

Re: Realization of frequency_counter with FPGA SPARTAN 3E

I am a student enthusiasm to achieve a frequency-based FPGA using a development kit Spartan-3E .. At first I must create a VHDL code that describes the method for calculating the frequency ..

I think that: (1) I must first create one CLK1 clock frequency divider with carry on the oscillator clk = 5OMhz present in the SDK: CLK1 goes after 1s (the counting window)

(2) Then I do a detector head up or down (counter) that will contain the output frequency in Hz = nb simultaneously detect for 1s disposed of CLK1.

(3) Then, I must save this value in a flip-flop latch .....

(4) Finally the show first in the LCD display in the present kit developement, and secondly to the PC using the RS232 communication .....
Does this method is correct?
how to describe it in VHDL (just where I have to start ..)
Or I can use the ROM and microprocessor "softcore" (pico blaze or MicroBlaze) in this project and how??

Please help me find a solution or direct me because I feel very far for this project .. And thank you in advance
Tags (1)
0 Kudos