UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor jaless
Visitor

Spartan 6: How to use the MIG (external memory)

Hi I am fairly new to work with FPGAs. For my final project for my FPGA course, I decided to recreate the classic game, Space Invaders. However, I quickly ran into memory constraint issues (as I was only using the on-board RAM). My professor said that there is external memory that can be used (via the MIG and MCB); however, as this was only an introductory FPGA course never showed how to use it.

Could someone tell me how to make use of external memory for projects with the Spartan 6? Or link me to some useful tutorials? I have seen the MIG User Guide, but it is quite dense for someone new to the game. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

- Jason

0 Kudos
4 Replies

Re: Spartan 6: How to use the MIG (external memory)

HI jason ,

I think you're looking out for the reference for the HOW to use MIG  with spartan 6 device .

Can have SP605  evaluation kit example 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/boards_and_kits/sp605_MIG_pdf_xtp060_13.4_c.pdf

or 

for reference

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp858.pdf

Regards,
Sekhar 
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regards
Chandra sekhar