UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor martin.jandl
Visitor

Spartan3e High Speed Camera LVDS interface

Hello all. I would like to interface High Speed CMOS chip to Spartan 3E Starter Kit. CMOS chip has 12x LVDS outputs 10-bit, 620Mbps each. Does anybody have experiences and can confirm that Spartan3E fpga (xc3s500e) is able to handle such inputs on that rate? Im new to fpga so I will be happy for any help. Thanx a lot. Martin.
0 Kudos
16 Replies
Explorer
Explorer

Re: Spartan3e High Speed Camera LVDS interface

Hi Martin (all the best people are called that :-)

Sounds like hard work for a Spartan - do you have access to the clock that comes with the LVDS outputs, or a divided down version of it (see XAPP485 for something that may be useful)?  Or is the clock embedded in the datastream?

What do you intend to do with your 7+Gbps of data afterwards?  Is it a high-frame-rate or high resolution sensor (or both!)?  If you don't mind me asking, which imager is it?

I'm currently working on a single channel deserialiser, "only" 324Mbps, self synchronising from embedded timing information.  It's looking reasonably doable. 

XAPP485 claims you can do 666Mbps per line... I have a working design based on that appnote that deserialises 4 streams of Camera Link data.

Cheers,
(another) Martin
Martin Thompson
martin.j.thompson@trw.com
http://www.conekt.co.uk/capabilities/electronic-hardware
0 Kudos
Visitor martin.jandl
Visitor

0 Kudos
Visitor martin.jandl
Visitor

Ahoj Martine! :-)
Thanks for your answer. Looks we are working in similar branch www.e-com.cz.