Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Difference between AXI interconnect and AXI smartconnect

Jump to solution

Hi,

first I'm new with the AXI Interface. What is the difference between the AXI Interconnect und AXI Smartconnect IP core? Which need I if I want to connect the DDR4-MIG to the AXI interface of the Zynq.

Thank you for your help.

br

martin sauer

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Hi @msau,

Both IP have the same functionnalities.

AXI SmartConnect is the successor to AXI Interconnect, it uses a different IP technology. You should use it for any new design.

Hope that helps,

Kind Regards,

Florent

Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Highlighted

Hi @msau,

Both IP have the same functionnalities.

AXI SmartConnect is the successor to AXI Interconnect, it uses a different IP technology. You should use it for any new design.

Hope that helps,

Kind Regards,

Florent

Florent

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

I created a design with a MIG and microblaze. The automatic routing and block automation created both and interconnect and a smartconnect. Are they both needed or is Vivado simply inefficient in this case?

0 Kudos
Highlighted

Hi @simchask,

I guess it depends in some case. I might be that some IPs are still expecting the AXI interconnect.

If you have further query, please create a new topic

Florent
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

I wouldn't say go blindly for AXI SmartConnect because last time I checked (about 10 months ago) SmartConnect was much bigger than AXI Interconnect and because our FPGA was very short on ressources, we went back to AXI Interconnect.