UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

[Doubt about synthesis]

Accepted Solution Solved
Highlighted
Explorer
Accepted Solution

[Doubt about synthesis]

Hello,

I'm pretty new at Vivado and I'm trying to see how much resources (LUT, FF...) will my design use, but it always reports me the same even if I create 64 more instances of one module. One of my source files has a for loop that creates X instances of a module (and it haves submodules) and the number of created instances (X) is defined by a: `define N_INSTANCES 64 in a Verilog header.

I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or I'm missing something, I also tried to find the solution on the forum but I didn't see it.

Thanks

Accepted Solutions
Scholar

Re: [Doubt about synthesis]

Couple of things - the code you posted is systemverilog.  Make sure Vivado is setup to use the SystemVerilog parser.  (I think renaming your file extension to .sv will cause this to happen automatically, but I may be confusing my tools).

Second thing, where is your typedef declared?  The error message seems to be saying you're declaring it at root scope (i.e not within a module or package). You need to move that definition to within (a module, or package).

Regards,

Mark

View solution in original post

All Replies

@joel.sanchez

Check for the netlist  for those 64 instances after opening synthesized design. Also look at the synthesis log and see if there are any warnings or info related to optimization  during synthesis process.

Regards

Rohit

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.