cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Errors during synthesis

Jump to solution

Hello, I am new to Vivado. I tried to synthesize the Basic_IPI_Design_Zedboard_2013p2 on Vivado 2014, but it doesn't work. There is an error that says:

[Synth 8-3493] module 'design_1' declared at 'E:/Zedboard/Basic_IPI_Design_ZedBoard_2013p2/Basic_IPI_Design_ZedBoard_2013p2/Basic_IPI_Design/Basic_IPI_Design.srcs/sources_1/bd/design_1/hdl/design_1.vhd:1658' does not have matching formal port for component port 'btns_5bits_tri_o' ["E:/Zedboard/Basic_IPI_Design_ZedBoard_2013p2/Basic_IPI_Design_ZedBoard_2013p2/Basic_IPI_Design/Basic_IPI_Design.srcs/sources_1/imports/hdl/design_1_wrapper.vhd":121]

There are 3 some other similar errors. There (unfortunately for me) must be some difference between Vivado 2013 and 2014 that breaks this reference design. The download is at http://zedboard.org/sites/default/files/design/Basic_IPI_Design_ZedBoard_2013p2.zip

I am new to Vivado and not sure how to troubleshoot this kind of problem. Is there a guidebook or something that explains the concepts behind the Vivado process? If I understood more of what was going on, then I might be able to troubleshoot it myself.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vemulad
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi,

Can you regenerate the block design wrapper file and see if it helps (right click on .bd file and select "create wrapper")?

If you have upgraded the IP's in Vivado 2014.x then there could be chance that the IP ports might have changed which is the reason for the error. As the other poster suggested make sure that the component declaration matches the module instantiation.

If you still see the issue then attach the design here. The link you specified is not accesible.

Thanks,

Deepika.

Thanks,
Deepika.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------