Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

FSM extraction "sequential" causes timing loop

Hi,

I am in the process of porting a working complex design from Altera Quartus to Xilinx Vivado. I am using a state machine to control access to a BRAM memory block. During synthesis, the FSM extraction applies the "sequential" encoding to my state register "cs". And suddenly, it reports a timing loop through "cs". Indeed there is a larger "loop" in the original design spanning multiple modules but it is actually broken by "cs" being a register.

If I use a different FSM extraction algorithm or disable it completely, no timing loop is reported and it synthesizes okay (haven't tried out on a physical board though).

I am afraid that I am not allowed to share the whole design and I am not sure whether I am able to produce a minimal example.

Did somebody else see this issue before? Since I am new to the Xilinx world, let me know if I can share some form of synthesis output to help investigating.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

Without the code, there is little we can say. Why do you have a loop through several modules? why is it not pipelined more? How is CS created, is it in a clocked process?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

The code of the FSM looks like this:

logic [1:0] cs, ns, ps;
localparam idle=2'b00, counting=2'b01, bursting=2'b10;
// Advance the finite-state machine
always_ff @ (posedge memclock) begin
	if (reset) begin
		{cs, ps} <= {idle, idle};
	end else begin
		{cs, ps} <= {ns, cs};
	end
end
// Compute next state
always_comb begin
	ns = cs;
	case(cs)
		idle:
			if (external_input) begin
				if (external_input2) begin
					ns = counting;
				end else begin
					ns = bursting;
				end
			end
		counting:
			if (...) begin
			       ns = bursting;
			end
		bursting:
			if (...) begin
				ns = idle;
			end
		default:
			ns = 'x;
	endcase
end